Most states have seatbelt laws, however, they will vary from state to state. If you live in or often drive in New York state it would behoove you to become familiar with NYS seatbelt law. Failure to obey the New York seatbelt law can result in tickets, accumulated points on license. After you have read through this post take a look at our post on the importance of seatbelt laws.
NY Seat Belt Law Requirements
The law in New York State requires that all passengers in the front seat wear seat belts. In addition, children under the age of 16 are required to wear seat belts when they are in the front seat and the back seat. Children under the age of four are required to be secured in child safety seats while riding. All children must ride in child restraint systems until the age of eight.
Seat Belt Violation Penalties in NY
The penalty for a seat belt or child safety seat violation in NYS is a fine of up to $50. If the seat belt violation NYC involves a person under the age of 16, the driver may receive a fine of $100. Drivers may receive three driver violation points on their NY driving license if found guilty. Excessive point accumulations on a NY driver’s license can result in significant fines as well as loss of license and an increase in auto insurance rates. You can mitigate the damage by enrolling in driving school.
Enroll in a New York Defensive Driving Course
The Point & Insurance Reduction Program, aka PIRP, in NYS was created to help refresh driving knowledge. By offering safety tips, teaching defensive driving techniques, and reviewing traffic laws this is easily accomplished. Those who complete a New York defensive driving course may be eligible for a four-point reduction on your NYS driving record. Attending defensive driving school offers a minimum 10% reduction in your automobile insurance premiums. This is for every year for three consecutive years. If you have an NYS seatbelt violation, taking an online defensive driving school class is definitely a smart choice.