You're almost ready to start your Utah course!
You will be up and running in less than 30 seconds
Which Utah course should I choose?
This course is used by individual Utah courts and traffic enforcement agencies for ticket dismissal as part of the traffic ticket adjudication. Complete this course only if you were given permission or ordered by the court or regulatory agency.
Select this course if you were referred by your insurance company for Policy Discount / Mature Driver Program.
See why over 3 million students picked us as the number one choice...
Written by professional Hollywood writers and fueled by laughs from the Improv Comedy Club
Defensive Driving in UT
We are pleased to announce our Defensive Driving Program for the State of Utah.
Voted Best Traffic School
Won countless accolades from students and the media, including "Best Traffic School" designation.
Certificate in 30 Minutes
Electronic proof of completion Issued in 30 minutes and original mailed same day.
24/7 US Based Support
Rain, snow, or shine - our US based support team is here 7 days a week ready assist you with any questions you may have.
Cut The Cord
Access your Utah Defensive Driving Course anywhere, anytime from any device.
We just ask that you don't do it while driving.
Defensive Driving by Improv was created over 20 years ago...
Founded in partnership with the World Famous Improv Comedy Club.
Created by the famed Improv Comedy Club, our Improv Defensive Driving Course provides a convenient and cost-effective way to complete your defensive driving class online. Based on a simple notion that a defensive driving course doesn’t have to be dry and boring, our Utah Defensive Driver Course has undergone numerous studies and have proven effective in reducing future tickets and accidents.
- Only $27.95
- Proof of completion in 30 minutes
- Voted #1 Best Defensive Driving School
- 24/7 US Based Support
- No Proctored Exams
*Please check with your court and/or insurance carrier to confirm their acceptance of nationally certified defensive driving course
Get started FAST
Take advantage of our free express registration and get going in less than one minute.
10 simple chapters on an easy to navigate page. If you are not ready to pay, you can start the course now with no obligations. You will be directed to the payment page once you complete Chapter 1.
And you are DONE
Just complete 10 easy chapters.
Our Utah Defensive Driving Course is completed online, making it quick and easy. Start at work (it will be our little secret), do a little at lunch, Come back another day over a cup of coffee at your favorite coffee shop, and you can always do it at home! Your pace, your time, your place.
Still not convinced? See Our Testimonials.
From students who took our Defensive Driving Courses in Utah.
Utah Defensive Driving
More information to help you make the right choice.
After being accused of a traffic offense or having too many points against your license, the Utah DPS could make you eligible to complete a traffic school course to lower the penalties.
Another way to utilize a defensive driving program is to submit it to your insurance provider for a discount.
Utah defensive driving programs are made to give you the knowledge needed to avoid future traffic tickets and car accidents.
Below you will find information regarding these courses, including why you would take one and who you should contact for further details in your specific case.
Utah Defensive Driving
You are qualified to take a Utah defensive driving course if you:
- Have court orders to satisfy.
- Want to have your driving record points lowered.
- Want a lowered auto insurance premium.
Depending on your situation, you could have 2 possible options for taking the course: online or in a classroom.
Point Reduction with Utah Defensive Driving
After committing traffic offenses, the UT DPS adds points to your driver's license. Racking up too many points puts you at risk of having your license suspended. The following situations would put you at risk of suspension:
Being 21 or older and piling up 200 or more points over the course of 3 years will have your license suspended for 1 month.
Being under the age of 21, your license could be suspended for 1 month for having 70 or more points on your record after 3 years.
However, driving for one whole year without a traffic violation will get half of your points taken off of your license.
Further, driving for 2 years without a traffic violation will erase all of your points.
Points received from a traffic violation are wiped clean after 3 years have expired.
Also, you are able to take a Utah traffic school course every third year to erase 50 points from your DPS record.
Ticket Dismissal with Utah Defensive Driving
After factoring in the severity of your case and your past offenses, the court handling your ticket could have you complete a traffic school course for dismissal of your ticket and the points that come along with it.
If this becomes granted to you, you will be given requirements such as:
- A deadline for class completion.
- The specific course you must take.
- Other paperwork and fees for submitting.
For further instruction or more details, contact the court handling your case.
Auto Insurance Discount with Utah Traffic School
Taking a Utah defensive driving course when it isn't required means you may earn a reduced auto insurance premium with your provider.
Auto insurance companies usually offer defensive driving discounts to new drivers and seniors. Even if that doesn't apply to you, you should still check to see if you are eligible.
Talk to your insurance agent for more details.
If you find that you can't earn a discount, and you feel like your rates are too high, it could be time to look for a new provider.
Utah Traffic School Overview
Whenever you enroll in a Utah traffic school course, you can expect to learn information on:
- Utah traffic offenses.
- Alcohol/drug awareness.
- Defensive driving moves.
- Accident avoidance.
- Habits of safe drivers.
Most courses require that you complete an exam at the end in order to receive your certificate. After passing the final exam, you will receive the certificate from your provider and your results may be transmitted electronically to:
- The Utah DPS
- Your traffic court.
In some cases, it may be necessary for you to submit your certificate to the proper authority yourself.
For receiving a car insurance discount, you will need to submit your certificate to your insurance provider.
If you have any questions about submitting your completion documents, please contact the authority in charge.