How to Deal with a California Traffic Ticket
Driving has many uncertainties, especially when it comes to the observation of traffic rules. CA traffic tickets are aimed at minimizing the violation of traffic rules and procedures. Understanding how they work is crucial in living a comfortable driving life as you have the basics at your fingertips. When you are issued with this ticket and you sign against it, it means that you have been charged with an infraction. This simply means that you are either required to appear in court or pay the fine as per the specified date.
You have a tacit responsibility of responding to the California traffic ticket. There are various CA traffic ticket options available, and you need to understand each one of them. Note that failure to take action before the maturity of the deadline might lead to the issuance of a warrant of arrest. Your driver’s license might also be revoked. One of the options below must apply.
The first option is that of pleading guilty after which you pay a fine. You will then be required to attend a California traffic school if you are eligible. It’s the best option if you are keen on avoiding records of further violations in your diving record. You also save your auto insurance rates from shooting to the sky.
After getting the CA traffic ticket, you can also opt to plead guilty and then pay the fine. All that needs to be done is mailing of the payment accompanied by the notice to the courts. As soon as the details are received, the case will be concluded as convicted. Consequently, the violations will have to be entered in your CA DMV driving record. The associated points will last for a period of three to seven years. This will have adverse effects on your auto driving insurance policy.
The last option is not to plead guilty in which case you can call for a hearing. This can either be before a sitting judge or a trial by a written declaration. In the latter, the final submissions are mailed to you.
California Traffic School
The CA DMV only allows a single traffic conviction to be masked from the driving record in a period of 18 months. The provisions were legalized in July 1, 2011. It is designed reduce the incidences of a driver being issued a traffic ticket in California.
Eligibility for Joining the Traffic School
You will only be allowed to join the school on the following conditions.
- If your driving license is not revoked.
- If you have a CDL and the California tickets are issued while driving a non-commercial car.
- If a period of 18 months has elapsed since the issuance of the last violation was masked off your driving record.
- Where the violation falls within the requirements of the California traffic school
Be smart while on the road and avoid being issued with a California ticket. Where you are already affected, apply the above tips and you will get off the hook easily.