California Drivers Ed

CA Teen Driver’s Education Course
Fast. Fun. Done.
CA
DMV
Licensed
$19.95

Special $9.95

  • ✔ CA DMV Licensed. No Final Exam.
  • ✔ Easy Multiple-Choice Open Book Quizzes
  • ✔ 100% Online. Pass or Don’t Pay.
  • ✔ Free 50-Question DMV Permit Practice Test
  • ✔ Free DMV Reporting and Instant Proof of Completion

As Seen on:

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • Complete Driver
    Ed Online
  • Get Learner
    Permit
  • Complete Driver
    Training
  • Drive with an
    Adult
  • Get Drivers
    License

Pass First Time,
Don′t Pay

Start Now,
Pay Later

Mobile-
Friendly

Based on a curriculum that is proven to reduce crashes and driving violations.

In order to apply for a California provisional (learner’s) permit, you are required to complete a Driver Education course through a DMV-licensed driving school. In addition, you must be at least 15 ½, but under 18 years of age. If you are a California teen between 15 ½ and 18 years old and are wanting to get your California learner’s permit, this is the right course for you! Completing your California drivers ed online is the most simple way to satisfy California state requirements and get you on the road!


Improv’s California Drivers Ed Course is Fast, Fun, Done!

  • CA DMV Licensed
  • Fun and simple
  • Take the course at your convenience from home or anywhere using a mobile device or tablet. Complete the 30-hour course in one sitting or spend as much time as you need to learn and study for your permit exam.
  • Helpful tools for both teens and parents! See Helpful Resources below.
  • Comedy Breaks: Take a break to watch some funny videos related to driving!
  • Prepares you to easily pass your California permit test
  • Money Back Guarantee

Helpful Resources for Both Parents and Teens

Teens: Take our Free 50-question California DMV Practice Test as many times as you need to feel confident for the real thing! You will find the practice test on the course Table of Contents.

Parents and Teens:

What is the California Driver’s Ed Course?

To reduce teen auto crashes and related death and injuries, the state of California adopted the Graduated California Drivers License (GDL) law in 1997. Under this rule, new teen drivers must:


1. Complete a Driver Education Course.

  • Complete this online driver education course (which you’ll do. We guarantee it.
  • Practice DMV questions at the end of the course.
  • Once you done with course, we’ll send you your Certificate of Driver Ed Completion (Form OL 237).
  • Take Certificate of Driver Ed Completion Form OL237 and your birth certificate with you when you go to DMV to take your permit test.









2. Find a professional driving school and enroll into behind-the-wheel driver training.





3. Pass the California DMV test and get Learners Permit:

  • Bring the DMV Application Form DL 44, Behind-The-Wheel School’s Form OL 392 and our Certificate of Driver Ed Completion (Form OL 237) to the DMV. The DMV does not offer the form DL 44 online because it requires original signatures.
  • Pass DMV written traffic law test (46 questions on the test. You need to answer 39 correctly.) You will have three chances to pass. If you fail, you can’t retake the test for seven days.
  • DMV will also test your eyesight, so if you wear glasses or contacts make sure to bring it with you.
  • Pay the DMV fee. This will cover three attempts to pass your DMV written and driving tests.
  • Get your picture taken.
  • Give a thumb print.
  • You’ll also need to bring proof of birth evidenced by at least one of these documents:
  1. Your original or certified copy of your birth certificate, OR an acceptable document showing date of birth/legal presence
  2. U.S. birth certificate
  3. Proof of Indian Blood Degree
  4. U.S. passport
  5. Official U.S. Armed Forces Identification Card
  6. Naturalization certificate
  7. Permanent Resident Card
  8. Passport from another country or Mexican Border Crossing Card (with a valid I-94 form)
  9. Proof of U.S. citizenship
  • Documentation stating your full name. Documents that verify this are:
  1. Adoption documents that contain your full legal name after adoption
  2. Name change documents that show your full legal name prior to and after the name change
  3. Marriage certificate
  4. A registration/declaration document or certificate that verifies a domestic partnership
  5. Certificate of dissolution of marriage or other document that proves this, which states your legal name after court action was taken
  6. Your Social Security Number (which will be verified with the Social Security Administration, so no shenanigans.)
/br>



4. Then…

  • Complete 50 hours of driving practice with an adult (25 years or older).
  • Hold a provisional learner’s permit for six months.
  • Pass the driver test at a DMV location and get your provisional CA Drivers license.

Age Requirements


Depending on your age you will need to take different steps to obtain your California drivers license.

California Driver Handbook

To read the handbook online, bookmark the California Driver Handbook.

Adult-Supervised Driving

Six hours of required driver’s training with licensed driving school, is a bare minimum that is required by law. A new teen driver is also required to practice driving for an additional 50 hours with a parent or guardian over the age of 25. Out of 50 hours that are required by California law, 10 hours of this driving practice must be at night.

CA DMV has published a Parent-Teen Training Guide filled with training suggestions, skill building exercises and self-testing.

Since your teen is required to have a learners permit for six months prior to taking their California drivers license test, they should have plenty of opportunities to practice. Think of this as an opportunity to have a personal driver for the next six months. Fair trade considering you were driving them for last 16 years.


Parent-Student Contract

To make sure that you and your teen driver are on the same page during this process, we’ve included a free Parent-Teen Agreement with our California Driver’s Education online course. This document gives you and your teen a list of rules and consequences associated with their new freedom. You can both sit down together and decide on what is fair for each of you, express your agreement to the terms by initialing/signing where indicated so that everyone will be held accountable for their actions.


Key to Success: Lead by Example

Teaching your kids to drive can be a fun but also stressful. The way you drive will definitely translate into your teen’s driving habits. Make sure you follow basic rule and practice defensive driving.

  • Signal
  • Obey speed laws
  • Be courteous to other drivers
  • Explain Dangers of Drinking or using drugs
  • Offer to get your kid without getting them in trouble if they ever need your help or find them in situation where they had a drink.
  • Remember car crashes are one of the leading caused of young people death, and habits that you develop now will last a lifetime.
california drivers license california drivers license

COURSE INFORMATION

What is the California Driver’s Ed Course?

The California driver’s ed course is a California driver education course that all teens in the state must complete to get their California driver’s permit.

Is California Drivers License Direct by Improv Licensed by the CA DMV?

Absolutely! Our easy to take CA driver’s ed course is a licensed CA DMV course and meets all of the requirements to get the first-time driver’s permit in California.

Does your course include a free practice exam that I can take?

Yes. Our California driver’s ed course includes a free 100-question practice exam. This lets you know precisely what kind of questions to expect! This will be a big advantage in your written exam preparation.

How old do I have to be to take the CA drivers education course?

This course is for new teen drivers between the age of 15 ½ to 17 ½ .

Do I have to take drivers education in person or can I take this online course?

Per CA DMV regulations, you may take the CA driver’s education course online rather than in a classroom setting. It’s much more convenient, cost effective, and way quicker (not to mention less boring) to take the course online.

How long is the course?

The course is designed to take 30 hours to complete, but the actual course time will depend on the student (how fast you read, retain information, etc.

Do I have to take quizzes in this course?

No! There is a short 3-question quiz at the end of each chapter for review purposes only.

Do I have to take a final exam in this course?

No! There is no final exam required to complete this course.

Can I take the course in increments or do I have to take the whole course at once?

No! That’s one of the reasons California teens love our course! Driver’s ed students appreciate the fact that they are in the driver’s seat when it comes to taking their CA driver’s ed course!

  1. Take the course in increments as time permits rather than all in one sitting. Our California driver’s ed course is designed for convenience and to work around your busy teen schedule!
  2. You decide when and where you will study. The course can be taken on computers, laptops, iPads and most mobile devices.

How long does it take to get my Certificate of Completion?

Once you complete the course, you can instantly download a proof of completion. However, the CA DMV requires that you submit the original certificate of completion to them (DL 400C) when applying for your driver’s permit. As such, your original certificate must be mailed to you and will be mailed to you the day after you complete the course. Expedited shipping options are also available.

What do I do with my Certificate of Completion when I receive it in the mail?

Hold on to your original driver’s ed Certificate of Completion (DL 400C), as you will need to present it to the DMV at the time you take your provisional permit exam.

How long does it take to get my Certificate of Completion?

Once you complete the course, you can instantly download a proof of completion. However, the CA DMV requires that you submit the original certificate of completion to them (DL 400C) when applying for your driver’s permit. As such, your original certificate must be mailed to you and will be mailed to you the day after you complete the course. Expedited shipping options are also available.

What happens after I complete CA drivers education course?

Simple…once you have completed your CA driver’s education course and behind-the-wheel training course, you can apply for your CA driver’s and then start your actual training behind the steering wheel when accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, or other licensed driver 25 years of age or older.

ABOUT THE COURSE

How do I get my provisional (learner’s) permit after taking the online driving school driver’s ed course?

    Requirements
  1. Must be at least 15 ½, but under 18 years of age
  2. Must have completed California Driver Education through a DMV-licensed driving school (like us)
  3. Complete DMV Form DL 44.
  4. An original California Drivers License Application (Form DL 44) form must be completed (no photocopies). The DMV does not allow you to download this form online because each form contains a unique barcode which must be scanned by the DMV employee at your DMV driver’s permit appointment. To obtain a Driver License Application, you may either pick one up at your local DMV office or you may call the DMV’s Automated Telephone Service at (800) 777-0133 to have a form mailed to you. The automated service is available 24/7. If you are under 18 years of age, you will need to have your parents or guardians sign the application.
  5. Make your appointment at the DMV by going in person to a DMV office or making an appointment online.
    What to bring with you to the DMV
  1. Either your social security card or birth certificate
  2. Your completed Form DL 44 signed by both you and your parents/guardians
  3. Proper completion form from your California Driver Education and/or Driver Training class (Form DL 400C if you took the course through an DMV-licensed online course)
  4. DMV Application fee Note: This fee entitles you to three exams of any type within the 12–month period and pays for both the instruction permit and the driver license. If all requirements are not met within the 12–month period, the application becomes void and all steps must be completed again.
    Exams you will need to pass at your DMV Appointment
  1. Vision exam
  2. Written traffic laws and signs exam. There are 46 questions on the test. A passing score is at least 38 correct answers. Note: You will have 3 chances to pass the written test. If you happen to fail, you will have to wait an additional 7 days before you are allowed to take it once again. Once you pass your exam, you will need to give your thumb print and get your picture taken!

After I get my provisional (learner’s) permit, can I drive a car by myself or with my friends?

No. Remember, with a learner’s permit, it is illegal for you to drive alone at any time. You may only drive if a parent, guardian, spouse or adult 25 years of age or older who has a valid California drivers license is present with you in the vehicle. He or she must sit in a position close enough to take control of the vehicle, if necessary.

ONCE YOU HAVE YOUR CALIFORNIA DRIVERS LICENSE

Are there any restrictions on my first driver’s license?

Yes, there are some Provisional Driving Restrictions to your California Drivers License for the first 12 months: You must be accompanied and supervised by a licensed parent, guardian or other licensed driver 25 years of age or older or a licensed or certified driving instructor when you:

  1. transport passengers under 20 years of age at any time, for the first twelve months.
  2. drive between 11 pm and 5 am for the first twelve months.
california drivers license
  • Awesome course, loved it and learned lots of stuff.

    - Sarel N.

  • Halfway through the course, I was starting to use some of the information I had learned. My parents are really impressed.

    - Kristin W.

  • This course is really good. it tells you all you need to know about driving safety without having to leave home.

    - Roddy S.

  • Good way to learn about safety, rules etc., but with some humor too.

    - Nicholas E.

  • You guys made it very enjoyable and easy to complete. I’ll tell all my friends about this course.

    - Alyssa G.

  • Great class. I enjoyed the comedy a lot!

    - Melodye C.

  • I really enjoyed this course. It taught me a lot and was very easy to use.

    - – Matthew A.