will help to reduce your risk of getting into an accident, but it’s a good idea to study the law in the Lone Star State, as well. Here are three things you might not know about ticketing, violations and licensing in Texas.
If You Don’t Sign, the Officer Has to Arrest You
When you get pulled over in Texas, you have to sign for your ticket. Don’t worry, that’s not an admission of guilt. If you want to fight the ticket, you can fight it whether or not you signed. Signing the ticket is just to say that, yes, you received the ticket. If you don’t sign the ticket, the officer has to arrest you for refusing to cooperate, so save yourself the trouble and sign for the ticket.
You Might Have to Keep Paying
Some violations in Texas will lead to annual surcharges. Here are a few of the big ones:
- $100 Per Year for Three Years for Driving Without a License
- $250 Per Year for Three Years for Driving With Invalid License
- $250 Per Year for Three Years for Driving Without Insurance
- $1,000 Per Year for Three Years for First DWI Offense
- $1,500 Per Year for Three Years for Second DWI Offense
- $2,000 Per Year for Three Years for Driving With Blood Alcohol Level .16 or Greater
This would mean that one infraction could run you up to $6,000, which might not feel like quite so much spread out over three years, but it’s probably more than you’d care to part with all the same.
There Are More Violations Than You Might Know About
You know not to drive drunk, you know not to drive without a license, but there are violations in Texas that you might not be aware of. You can be ticketed or have your license suspended or revoked for all of the following:
- Failing to Render Aid
- Habitual Recklessness (you’ll be ticketed for your habitual recklessness, not just per incident)
- Committing an Offense In Another State Which Would be Grounds for Suspension or Revocation in Texas
It is important that you not only study defensive driving in Texas, but that you understand the subtleties of the law in the Lone Star State, as well.