About the Course

Yes, we are approved with the Missouri Safety Center via Missouri Department of Transportation to offer the Driver Improvement Program (DIP). You can locate us under American Institute for Public Safety, Inc. on the list of approved providers: Approved Online Programs.
You may complete the course at your own pace, but state regulations require that you spend a minimum of 400 minutes (6 hours and 40 minutes) logged into the course.
There are 10 chapters in the course.
Missouri Driver’s License holders who received a traffic citation for moving violations can enroll in the Missouri Driver Improvement Program or DIP, (also known as an online Missouri defensive driver course) to avoid point assessment on their Missouri driving record. ? You may also be eligible for Missouri car insurance reduction, depending on your insurance provider. You should check with your insurance company to confirm if an insurance premium reduction is available for taking the course.
The course can be taken every 36 months (3 years) from the date of completion to avoid points from being assessed on your Missouri driving record.
Yes as long as:
  • The citation you received was a moving violation.
  • You pled guilty to the citation.
  • You paid the citation fine in full prior to completing the course.
  • You did not receive your citation while driving a commercial motor vehicle.
  • You do not have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) from Missouri or any other state.
  • You received your citation in one of the following counties*: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Daviess, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Nodaway, Oregon, Osage, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Putnam, Reynolds, Ripley, Saline, Schuyler, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Sullivan, Vernon, Wayne, Worth, Wright. * The name of the county in which you received your citation can be located at the top of your citation in the first block.

If the county in which you received your citation is not listed above and you would like to take the Driver Improvement Program (DIP), you must first plead not guilty to the Fine Collection Center (FCC). FCC will then send your citation to the prosecuting attorney in the county where the citation was issued. After the prosecutor files the citation with the court, the court will schedule a court date and notify you of this date. If you plead guilty at the court, the court has the authority to allow you to attend DIP to avoid points being assessed on your driving record. However, this decision is made by the court on a case–by–case basis and there is no guarantee that the court will allow you to take the DIP to avoid points on your driver’s license. You should check with the court in the county where the ticket was issued to learn about local policies concerning DIP.

To avoid point assessment on your driving record, you must complete an approved DIP course within 60 days of making a guilty plea.
If you received a ticket in Missouri, but your driver’s license is from a state other than Missouri, taking the Missouri Driver Improvement course will not guarantee that your home state will not assess points or post the moving violation on your driving record. You should check with your home state authorities to determine what rules apply.
No, there is not an age requirement to take the Missouri Driver Improvement course.
Yes, there are three (3) quiz questions at the end of each chapter, but they are for review purposes only and no passing grade is required. As well as a final quiz, which consists of 50 questions, and you need 80% to pass (40 correct answers). Don’t worry though; you will be given unlimited attempts to pass the final quiz, so failing the course is NOT possible.

Completion

Our Missouri Driver Improvement Course includes a free certificate download so that you can print your own certificate within 30 minutes of completing the course! Simply log back into your account at least 30 minutes after completing the course, and click on ‘Print my Certificate!’
You should either mail or hand-deliver the certificate of completion to the court. Remember, it is your responsibility to provide the court with a copy of your completion certificate by the due date in order to prevent points from being assessed to your driving record. You should download or print a second copy for your own records.

Start Now