About the Course
IMPORTANT: If the Virginia DMV ordered you to take a Virginia Driver Improvement course, you must complete the course within 90 days or your driving privilege will be suspended.
1. Ordered by DMV. Typically, the DMV will require Virginia drivers to take the Virginia Driver Improvement Course:
- If you were convicted of a traffic violation or safety belt/child restraint violation when you were age 18 or 19*;
- If you accumulate 12 demerit points within a 24-month period
- To restore your driving privilege after being suspended for excessive demerit points
* Please Note: If you are under age 20 and were ordered by the VA DMV to complete a Driver Improvement Clinic, a computer-based course will not be accepted and you will be required to attend a live classroom course.
2. Voluntary to receive 5 safe driving points. You may complete an approved Driver Improvement course once every 24 months to earn 5 safe driving points. Safe driving points can be used to offset demerit points already reflecting on your Virginia driving record, or can be accumulated or “banked” to offset future demerit points. A maximum of 5 safe driving points can be accumulated.
3. Court Referred – Point Reduction. Select this option if a Virginia court has agreed to dismiss the demerit points associated with a specific violation you received in order to keep points off of your Virginia driving record.
* Please Note: If you were referred by the court to take a Virginia Driver Improvement course, you will not be eligible to receive an insurance premium reduction.
4. Court Referred – Fine Reduction. Select this option if a Virginia court has agreed to reduce the court fees associated with a specific violation you received. Demerit points are usually not reduced with this option.
5. Insurance Discount. Select this option if your insurance company offers a discount to their Virginia customers who complete a defensive driving course. Contact your insurance company to verify that this discount is available prior to registering for the course.
* Please Note: If you take a Virginia Driver Improvement course to reduce your insurance premium, you will not be eligible to receive safe driving points.
Safe Driving Points: The Virginia Driver Improvement Course can be taken once every 24 months to receive safe driving points on your VA license.
Court Referred: The court has the discretion to decide if and how often you will be allowed to take the course to reduce court fees or to reduce demerit points for a ticket you received.
Court Ordered: The court has the discretion to order that a Driver Improvement course be taken at any time.
Insurance Discount: Check with your insurance company to confirm how long the insurance discount is applicable to your automobile insurance policy.
Court Referred: You should detach the ‘Court Copy’ and either mail or hand-deliver it to the court. Remember, it is your responsibility to provide the court with a copy of your completion certificate by the due date.
VA DMV Ordered: If you took the course because you were ordered to do so by the Virginia DMV, your completion will be electronically reported to the DMV on your behalf within 24 hours of completion.
Insurance Reduction: If you took the course because you are seeking an insurance premium reduction, you should submit the top copy to your insurance company so that your insurance reduction will be applied to your policy. You should retain the ‘Student Copy’ for your own records.
DMV Reporting: Please note that we electronically report completions to the Virginia DMV for drivers who hold Virginia driver licenses. If you were cited in Virginia but have an out-of-state driver license, your completion will not be reported to the Virginia DMV; you should follow the instructions to submit your completion certificate to the court directly.