Whether you were pulled over while cruising down Route 66 or issued a citation for barreling down a backroad near Santa Fe, dealing with a New Mexico speeding ticket probably isn't your idea of a great time. That's for a good reason. Not only can a speeding ticket in New Mexico put a severe dent in your wallet, but you'll also be assessed points that could result in a license suspension or worse.
Your New Mexico speeding citation will vary based on where you received your ticket, how fast you were going, and whether or not you were speeding in a school or work zone. Expect to pay at least $25 and as much as $190 or more depending on your circumstances.
So, what determines the penalties you're facing if you're issued a speeding ticket in New Mexico?. Let's take a look:
NEW MEXICO SPEEDING TICKET COSTS:
- 1 - 10 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $25 fine and 3 points added
- 11 - 15 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $30 fine and 3 points added
- 16 - 20 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $65 fine and 3 points added
- 21 - 25 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $100 fine and 4 points added
- 21 - 25 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $160 fine and 4 points added
- 26 - 30 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $170 fine and 4 points added
- 31 - 35 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $180 fine and 4 points added
- 36+ m.p.h. over the speed limit: $190 fine and 4 points added
NEW MEXICO ABSOLUTE SPEED THRESHOLDS:
- Posted Residential Zones Maximum Allowed Speed: 15 m.p.h.
- Business and Residential Zones Maximum Allowed Speed: 35 m.p.h.
- Interstate Highways Zones Maximum Allowed Speed: 75 m.p.h.
When you receive a speeding ticket in New Mexico you'll have options. If you know you're ready for a NM MVD approved defensive driving course you can register now to get started.
NEW MEXICO SPEEDING TICKET COST TABLE
|M.P.H. OVER LIMIT||
|1 - 10 m.p.h.||$25||3|
|11 - 15 m.p.h.||$30||3|
|16 - 20 m.p.h.||$65||3|
|21 - 25 m.p.h.||$100||4|
|21 - 25 m.p.h.||$160||4|
|26 - 30 m.p.h.||$170||4|
|31 - 35 m.p.h.||$180||4|
NEW MEXICO ABSOLUTE SPEED THRESHOLDS
MAXIMUM ALLOWED SPEED
|Posted Residential Zones||15 m.p.h.|
|Business and Residential Zones||35 m.p.h.|
|Interstate Highways||75 m.p.h.|
How does the New Mexico driver's license points system work?
Once you've accumulated 6 points on your license you will receive a warning about your driving status. Reach 7 total and your license could be suspended for 3 months. If you accumulate 12 points within 1 year your license will be automatically suspended.
Individual courts, judges, and law enforcement have a lot of leeway in determining the penalties you may face. In addition, certain circumstances can carry extra monetary and points penalties:
- Your speeding citation might include a careless driving charge. If you are found guilty of a careless driving infraction you face additional fees, possible jail time, and 3 points being added toy your driving record.
- Your speeding citation may include a reckless driving charge if you are found to have endangered people or property. These infractions will come with additional penalties and fees, could result in jail time, and will add 6 points to your driving record.
How to Address a Speeding Ticket in New Mexico
No one likes getting a speeding ticket, but failing to address it can cause long-term problems for the state of your license, your insurance rate, and potentially, your freedom. Getting ahead of the issue is the best course of action, and the first step in doing so is finding out exactly what you're dealing with.
Receiving a speeding ticket in New Mexico doesn't have to break the bank, or create long term complications you'd rather not deal with. In many cases, taking a NM MVD approved defensive driving course will be your best option. Whichever path you choose to follow knowing what you're up against in terms of fees, fines, and penalties as well as the options you have to minimize them is the first step to putting your troubles behind you.
For information on Virginia Speeding Ticket, click: Virginia Speeding Ticket? Fines Info & More