Now Only $38.95
+ Court and State Fees
HURRY, OFFER ENDS IN
Arizona Defensive Driving Program Explained
Every AZ state-approved defensive driving courses have the same court diversion fee (see court diversion fee list here), state fee of $24.00, and state surcharge fee of $45.00. As a requirement of the State of Arizona, we are directed to collect all fees from you before you begin the course. Improv Traffic School will then remit these fees on your behalf to the Court.
Yes, all schools, online and in-person, collect court and state fees. Remember, you are paying to take this course INSTEAD of paying your traffic ticket, and also for the points NOT to appear on your record so your insurance isn’t affected.
Most moving violations are eligible for traffic school, but to view which violations are eligible, click here.
If you were involved in a serious injury or fatal accident, you are not eligible. If you have already taken the course within the last 12 months, or if the violation for which you were cited is not on the list of eligible citations you will not be eligible.
You know IMPROV Traffic School is “for real,” because:
No. Per AZ state law, an AZ defensive driving course can only be applied for ONE AZ traffic violation.
You can only take AZ Traffic School or AZ Defensive Driving once every 12 months.
Per AZ state law, you must spend a minimum of 4 hours in the course.
No. You can log off and back on as often as you like, as long as you complete the course 7 days before your court appearance date.
There are 10 chapters, timed at 24 minutes each.
No. You can complete on any device - use multiple computers, iPads, phones, various devices while taking this course.
Yes. We have same-day and 24-hour processing for a small, additional fee.
You must complete your course 7 DAYS BEFORE the court appearance date.
Most drivers are allowed at least one extension. Contact the court on your ticket by phone or their website to ask for an extension. Click here to view courts and their continuance rules.
As long as you and your ticket are eligible, then yes, completing and passing an AZ defensive driving course will stop the points from going on your record.
We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can contact us anytime via phone, live chat and email. We are here to help you from start to finish!
Along with our 24/7 Customer Service, our course is sprinkled with comedy to keep your attention and help you remember the material. We also break the 25 multiple choice questions up into chapter quizzes. So, instead of taking a cumulative 25-question quiz at the end of the course, you only have to take a 2-3 multiple choice question quiz at the end of each chapter!
As long as you received a traffic ticket while driving a NON-COMMERCIAL vehicle, then yes, you can take AZ traffic school to dismiss your ticket.
An AZ defensive driving and AZ traffic school course is the same thing: a 4-hour course one takes to dismiss an AZ traffic ticket. The names are interchangeable. AZ Traffic Survival School is an 8-hour course that is ordered by the court or by AZ DMV usually to avoid license suspension.
Register with an AZ traffic school online as soon as possible so you will be able to take the course at your own pace, as well as complete it at least seven (7) days prior to your court arraignment date indicated on your ticket.
Submit identity verification/eligibility documents to the online Arizona traffic school.
AZ defensive driving schools are required to verify your identity and determine if you are eligible to attend an Arizona traffic school. To accomplish this, you will be required to submit the following prior to being permitted to start the course:
Take and complete the AZ defensive driving course online at least seven (7) days prior to your Court Appearance Date.
For complete information on everything you need to know about dealing with traffic tickets in Arizona, check out AZ Traffic Ticket 101: Journey from AZ Ticket to AZ Defensive Driving School.
The Arizona Supreme Court permits eligible residents of the state to enroll in defensive driving courses in order to minimize the penalties of a traffic citation. In many cases, successful completion of the course permits AZ drivers to:
People cited for a traffic violation who are not eligible to have the ticket expunged via completion of a defensive driving course; elect not to take the course; or fail to complete the course, will have points added to their driver´s license. Accumulate more than 8 in Arizona and a person risks having their license suspended.
An important note: a defensive driving course cannot be taken for the purpose of removing points that have already been added to a driver´s license by the state. Defensive driving courses can only be taken for the purpose of preventing points from being added.
While most people are only compelled to take a defensive driving course in order to prevent a citation from penalizing them, taking a defensive driving course on your own accord can often times reduce the insurance rate your car insurance provider charges you each billing cycle. Although each car insurance company is different, most have good driver reward options.
Inquiring with your insurance company could mean substantial savings in the future.
Defensive Driving by Improv was created over 20 years ago...
Founded in partnership with the World Famous Improv Comedy Club.
Our Arizona Defensive Driving School was created with the World Famous Improv Comedy Club to make it Fun Fast and Effective. Improv Traffic School's unique edutainment courses have won copious accolades from students and the media resulting in our being named Best Traffic School year after year.
See Why Over 4 Million People Trusted Us as Their #1 Choice
It happens to everyone - but we here at IMPROV have your back! It's our mission to help you get through it with a smile.
Court Approved Arizona Defensive Driving School for court order and traffic ticket dismissal.
Click to see our official license.
'Best Traffic School'
Won countless accolades from students and the media, including the "Best Traffic School" designation
Click to see our reviews.
30 Minute Processing
We will process your Certificate of Completion within 30 minutes after you finish the course and will send you the original in the mail.
Rain, snow, or shine - our support team is here 7 days a week ready to assist you with any questions you may have.
Click to chat with us now.
Useful Learning Resources: