Earning a Florida Driver’s License will give you full privileges to drive a car, by yourself, on the road. With a driver’s license you have absolute freedom behind the wheel. To get your driver’s license, you’ll have to meet the right requirements and qualifications, and provide specific documentations.
You’ll have to go through a few steps before you’re driving by yourself. This process starts with earning your learner and intermediate license.
Step 1: Enroll in a Florida Driver’s Ed Class and Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Class
The first step in getting your driver’s license is enrolling in a driver’s education class. These classes are designed to teach soon-to-be drivers road etiquette, laws to follow, and road sign meanings.
Along with enrolling in a driver’s education course, you’ll need to pass a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education class. This is a requirement Florida institutes for all first-time drivers who have not been licensed in another state.
Step 2: Earn a Florida Learner License
You must be at least 15 years old and a resident in the state of Florida to be qualified for a learner license. This is the first required step in getting your driver’s license. The learner license also has some restrictions attached to it.
Since you’re still learning how to drive, you must follow these rules:
To get your learner license, you will have to provide specific documentation. When you visit your local DMV branch, you’ll have to provide:
Aside from providing documentation, you will have to pass a few exams. These are:
When you hold onto your learner’s permit for one year, and do not make any traffic violations, you’ll be eligible for an intermediate license.
Step 2: Earn a Florida Intermediate License
The next step in getting your driver’s license is earning your intermediate license. To earn this restrictive license, you must be at least 16 years old and have had your permit for at least 1 year with a clean driving record.
You will also be required to show documentation, such as:
You will then be required to pass a certified driving test. You will be graded on defensive driving, following road etiquette, and understanding road signs.
After earning your intermediate license, you will need to follow a few restrictions.
If you're 16 years old, you can drive between the hours of 6:00 AM and 11:00 PM. You can drive at any time of day or night if a licensed driver is with you who is at least 21 years old.
If you're 17 years old or older, with your intermediate license, you can do everything a 16-year-old can do, plus you can drive until 1:00 AM without a 21-year-old licensed driver.
Step 3: Earn Your Florida Driver’s License
Now that you’ve spent the appropriate amount of time with your learner’s permit and your intermediate license, you’re finally ready for your Florida Driver’s License. To get your driver’s license, you’ll need to visit a nearby DMV branch and provide the right documentation.
The primary form of identification that you use must be either an original birth certificate or certified copy or a social security card. Once at the DMV you will be requested to pay the fee and get your photo taken.
- For information About Florida Drivers License Check click: Florida Drivers License Check
- Ensure your driving record is up-to-date with our step-by-step guide on "How to Perform a Florida Drivers License Check" and stay informed about the status of your Florida driver's license.
For information for California License Plate Check, click: California License Plate Check
- For More Information On Florida Car Registration, Click : Florida Car Registration: Titling and Registering a Car in Florida Is Easy (Car Registrations in Florida)