We provide you with information on how to apply and/or renew a Florida driver's license, DMV written and driving test requirements and the Florida ID qualifications and renewals.
How to Apply for a New Teen Driver's License in Florida
To make the roads safer for all involved, the Florida DHSMV has created a graduated driver licensing (GDL) program.
This program states that all teen drivers must meet certain requirements before they have the privilege of driving with their official driver's license. Most of these requirements depend on a person's age and past driving history.
Florida GDL Law
For those under 18, the following parts of the GDL program must be finished.
- Obtain a learner's permit.
- Obtain an intermediate (provisional) driver's license.
- Obtain your full, no-restriction license.
Up until the time you get your non-restricted driver's license, you will have certain restrictions outlined below.
You must be 15 years old to get a learner's permit. You must be 16 to 17 years old to get your intermediate (provisional) driver's license.
You must be 18 or older to get your non-restricted driver's license.
FL Learner's Permit
To be eligible for a FL learner's permit, you have to be at least 15 or older and have finished the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. For further details, please check out our Florida Driver's Ed page.
When applying for your learner's permit at your local DHSMV, bring with you:
- A filled-out consent form for a minor (Form HSMV 71142).
- Proof of identity. Examples include a U.S. passport or birth certificate.
- Proof of SSN. (Social Security Card)
- Proof of completing a TLSAE course OR a learner's permit from another state.
- Proof of your FL living address.
After presenting these documents, you must take and pass the exams below:
- Vision test.
- Hearing test.
- DMV written knowledge exam.
To help you pass your written exam, the FL DHSMV has provided you with a FL Driver Handbook. In addition to studying this handbook, it would be a great idea to study by using an online practice exam. If you use these resources to your advantage, you'll have no trouble passing your written test on your first try.
Driving Restrictions and Practicing Behind the Wheel
When you have a Florida learner's permit, you are only allowed to drive during the day for the initial three months. After those first three months, you will then be able to drive up until 10 p.m.
You are not allowed to drive without supervision of someone who is 21 or older, and they must be in the passenger seat.
In order to get your provisional license, you need to:
- Have at least 50 hours of practice driving time.
- 10 of those 50 hours need to be night driving hours.
FL Provisional License
To get your intermediate driver's license, the following requirements must be met:
- You need to be 16 or older.
- You need to have kept your FL learner's permit in good standing for one year or more.
- You need to finish 50 hours of driving practice behind the wheel, of which 10 need to be night driving.
Please go to your nearest Florida DMV to:
- Present your Florida learner's permit or a learner's permit from another state.
- Take your driving test OR submit a DMV driving test waiver obtained from your driver's education program.
- Submit your form that indicates you have completed the required practice driving hours.
Driving Restrictions with the Provisional License
There will be certain restrictions with an intermediate license that depend on your age:
- Those who are 16 years old are allowed to drive unsupervised, but only between the hours of 6 a.m. to 11 p.m.
- Those who are 17 years old are allowed to drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.
If you would like to drive at any time during the day without the aforementioned restrictions, you must:
- Be supervised by someone 21 or older with a valid driver's license.
- Be commuting to or from work.
Full Driver's License
After turning 18, your intermediate license becomes a non-restricted license, which means you don't have any more driving restrictions that require you to drive at certain times of the day, and you no longer have to be supervised.
Applying for a FL driver's license involves you visiting your local DHSMV in person. You'll have to pass a road test, driving knowledge test, a hearing exam, and eye exam. There will also be associated fees that you will have to pay.
The following information will help you earn your driver's license with the FL DHSMV. Note: Teenagers must meet the standards required by the graduated driver's license (GDL) program before becoming able to apply for a FL driver's license.
Just Moved to Florida?
Those who have just moved to Florida with a valid license from your prior state must have it changed to a Florida license in 30 days or less after you've become a resident.
Please check out the steps below for applying for a Florida driver's license.
Along with sending the required documents, you must also turn in your previous state's license.
All of your exams (hearing, driving, written) could be waived for those who carry a valid license from a different state in the U.S. or U.S. territories as well as another country. This will be decided by the DHSMV.
NOTE: For those under the age of 18, you will need a parent or guardian to sign the application. The only exception is if you are married. Types of Florida Driver's Licenses You will be presented with a variety of options for your driver's license, which will vary depending on your age and vehicle.
- Non-commercial - Class E - You may operate non-commercial vehicles with no restrictions.
- Non-commercial - Class E Learner's Permit - For teenagers learning to driver non-commercial vehicles with some restrictions.
- Motorcycle license.
- Commercial driver's license - CDL Class A, B, C - You may operate commercial vehicles with this license.
Qualifying for a FL Driver's License
For those under the age of 18, you must finish the GDL program before becoming qualified to apply for your driver's license. For this, you must first get a learner's permit and practice driving under supervision for the specified number of hours. Further details can be located on the Applying for a New License (Teens) page. For those who are 18 and above, you are already eligible to apply for a Florida Driver's license. Applying for a Florida Driver's License Once you feel prepared enough to try and get your FL driver's license, you should head over to your local DHSMV to: Give proof of:
- Identity - This includes a U.S. birth certificate, citizenship certificates, or permanent resident cards.
- Social Security Number - You may use a Social Security card, 1099 form, or one of your paychecks.
- For those who do not have a SSN, you'll have to bring a letter from the Social Security Administration along with another form of identity.
- Florida Address - *2 of the following: lease, bank statement, insurance papers.
- Take DMV tests:
- Written knowledge.
- Road test.
- Pay the fee of $48.
NOTE: You may utilize the Florida Gather Go Get website to see a comprehensive list of documents you may need. After passing your tests, you will receive your new Florida driver's license.
In order to get your FL license, you need to pass both a written and road driving exam.
The written test will be 50 multiple-choice questions that test your knowledge on various road signs and traffic signals. You will find everything you need to study for this exam in the Florida Driver Manual, which can be downloaded online. If you do not pass the test, a $10 fee is required to try again.
For further details, please call the Florida DHSMV.
Study for the Written Test Now
For good preparation for the written exam, it is suggested that you take a look at the Florida Driver Handbook. Along with that, you should also study by using an online practice test. The MyImprov team is the industry leader in helping you pass your exams on your first attempt. Road Test For the road test, you must bring your own vehicle. This vehicle must:
- Have a good-standing registration.
- Have the minimum-required insurance. (you must bring proof)
- Successfully go through an inspection.
This road test is designed to test your skills of operating a vehicle safely while following traffic rules. Some moves you may have to perform include:
- A Y-turn.
- Pass a vehicle.
- Yielding right-of-way.
For those who fail the driving test, you must come back to the DMV a different day for a retake and bring $20 for the fee. Florida Driver's License Status Check After completing all of the requirements for your driver's license, it will take about 2-4 weeks to reach you. For an update on the status of your license, kindly refer to the Florida Online Status Check page.
You are required to renew your license before expiration to drive legally in the state of Florida.
When It's Time to Renew
When your license is up for expiration, you will receive a letter from the Florida DHSMV noticing you of the coming expiration. You are able to renew your license within 18 months of the license's actual expiration date.
Each renewal makes your driver's license valid for eight years.
For those who are 80 or older, the license will be valid for six years and requires that you pass an eye exam for renewal.Renewal Options
As stated, you have 18 months before your license expires to renew it, which can be done in the following ways:
- At the DHSMV.
- Through the mail. (only if you are active military)
Driver's License Expiration
You are still able to renew an already-expired license within 12 months after it expires, but you will be responsible for a $15 late fee.
The Florida DHSMV might also need you to pass a written test.
If your license's expiration is on a weekend or national holiday, you will be given an extension until midnight of the next business day.
Florida Temporary Permits
Some of you might qualify for a temporary permit. To see if your qualify, please visit your local DHSMV.
NOTE: You only qualify here if your Florida license isn't suspended, canceled, taken away, or disqualified.
Suspended/Revoked Driver's Licenses
For those with a suspended or revoked driver's license, you will be denied the opportunity to renew.
Lost/Stolen Driver's Licenses
When renewing in person, you will need your current license to hand in.
For those who have lost their license or have had it stolen, you may still do an online renewal so long as you have the Florida driver's license number. If you need to get a replacement license to renew, you can apply for one online or at your local Florida DHSMV.
Requirements for Renewing a Florida Driver's License
Renewal of your license can either be done in person or online. Renewal cannot be completed over the phone or through the mail.
REAL ID-Compliant Driver's License
The Florida DHSMV follows the REAL ID act to satisfy required standards set by the government.
For those who have a non-compliant Florida license, you have to change over to the new driver's license.
Becoming REAL ID-compliant in FL requires that you present various ID documents to the closest Florida DHSMV when renewing. To see a comprehensive list of accepted documents, kindly refer to the Gather Go Get website.
Eye Exam For those who are 80 or older, a vision test is necessary when renewing your license. This test can be given by either a doctor, optometrist, or an osteopathic physician. Whoever you choose must fill out to send in to the Florida DMV.
After passing the eye exam, you can resume the process of getting your license renewed. If not, you have to see a Florida licensed eye specialist and fill out Form HSMV 72010.
NOTE: Eye exams done out-of-state are not allowed. Florida Renewals: Online The easiest option for renewal is to do it online. To qualify for an online renewal, you have to satisfy the requirements below:
- You performed your last renewal at the DHSMV.
- You're not applying for renewal of a CDL.
- You're a U.S. citizen.
- Your Florida license has not been canceled, suspended, or taken away.
To complete the renewal process online, please check out the Florida GoRenew website and fill your:
- Florida driver's license #, which includes the form # on the back.
- Your birth date.
- Last four digits of SSN.
- Credit card info to pay for the renewal fee of $48. Please see the "FL Driver's License Renewal Fees" below.
Your renewed license will be mailed to you when the process is complete.
Florida License Renewal: In Person
Drive to your local DHSMV to perform the renewal in person. Bring with you:
- One proof of identity document. The following qualify:
- U.S. Passport.
- Naturalization Certificate from the DHS.
- Birth Certificate.
- One document to prove your SSN. The following qualify:
- Driver's license of any state or U.S. territory.
- A school record that shows your birth date along with a registrar's signature.
- Marriage certificates.
- Two documents to prove residency in Florida. The following qualify:
- FL voter registration card.
- 1099 or W-2 form.
- FL vehicle title and/or registration.
- $48 for the cost of the renewal.
Please see the "FL Driver's License Renewal Fees" below for further details regarding fees.
For those who are not citizens of the U.S. but are looking to renew a license, you have to go to your local DMV office in person to give proof of legal residence, which can include your:
- Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551).
- Judge's order of immigration indicating your A-number.
- I-551 stamp on a passport or I-94 number.
For those needing to change their name and address, you are able to do so when visiting your DHSMV office while renewing your license. Out-of-State Members of Military Those who are military members and not in Florida are able to renew their Florida driver's license via the web within 18 months of expiration, and you are able to ask for an extension. Renewing Online If your Florida driving record shows you are a U.S. citizen, you are able to apply for a renewal online while you are in a different state. Kindly refer to the "Florida Renewals: Online" section above. Renewing Through the Mail You are allowed to renew your Florida driver's license through the mail if the following apply:
- You performed your last renewal in person.
- You're not renewing a CDL.
- You're a U.S. citizen.
- Your Florida driver's license hasn't been canceled, suspended, or taken away.
Kindly refer to the FL DHSMV email response form while selecting "Military Personnel: Need FL License" in order to get the forms to mail in. FL Driver's License Renewal Fees
- A Class E driver's license costs $48 to renew.
- There will be a $15 late fee added to late renewals.
- Retakes of the road test will cost $20.
- Retaking the written test will cost $10.
- An additional fee of $6.25 is charged as a tax collector fee.
Payment Methods Allowed At any Florida DMV, you are able to pay for your associated fees in the following methods:
- American Express
- Discover Card
If you are renewing online, your payment must be done with a credit or debit card. Please talk with your local Florida DHSMV to find out more about paying for your renewal.
Florida Identification Cards
In the state of Florida, the DHSMV is the authority for issuing ID cards.
Here is where you will find out how you can apply for a FL REAL ID, how to renew or replace a lost/stolen card, what fees you will owe, and how you can change your name/address. These Florida identification cards are useful for proving your birth date, identity, and address for simple things such as:
- Transactions with a debit/credit card.
- Getting on an airplane.
- Signing a contract.
- Performing bank transactions.
These ID cards can be very handy in emergencies as well. Such emergencies might include car accidents and/or missing person cases. The REAL ID cards are then used as an official form of identification. Qualifying for a FL ID Card The FL DHSMV is currently allowing you to apply for REAL ID cards if you are a Florida resident aged 5 or older. However, you must also meet the following requirements in order to apply for a REAL ID with the Florida DHSMV:
- You have to cancel outstanding out-of-state licenses.
- You can not already have a Florida driver's license.
How to Apply for a FL ID Card
The FL DHSMV states you must come to your local office in person in order to get a REAL ID. Thus, you should schedule an appointment with your local office by using their OASIS online service prior to stopping in. You must also:
- Prove your identity with one of the following documents:
- U.S. Passport.
- Your birth certificate.
- A DHS-issued Naturalization Certificate.
- If you're a non-citizen, you should see the "Non-U.S. Citizen Florida Identification Requirements" section below.
- Bring proof of Social Security Number, which means you must have your Social Security card.
- For those who do not have a SSN, you have to bring a letter written by the Social Security Administration that states you have yet to get one along with a qualifying document for proof of your identity.
- Show proof of being a Florida resident. You can use a FL voter card, some kind of rental agreement or lease, or a W-2/1099 form.
- Bring payment for a Florida identification card:
- An original ID card will cost $25.
- Renewing an ID card costs $25.
- Getting a duplicate ID card is $25.
- Changing your address is $25.
- An additional service fee for the tax collector office is $6.25.
Please refer to the GatherGoGet page for a comprehensive list of acceptable documents.
Non-U.S. Citizen Florida Identification Requirements
You need to present one document establishing identity as well as the documents from above for U.S. citizens. Your proof of identity will vary, however, because you won't have a U.S. Passport or birth certificate. Here are a few things you can use as a proof of identity:
- Valid Permanent Resident Card (I-551 - Lawful Permanent Residents).
- A document from the Department of Homeland Security (must indicate proof of legal residency).
- A legal passport made for non-immigrants.
The Florida DMV has a comprehensive list of all proof of identity documents, but you can also use the GatherGoGet website for making your own custom list of documents. FL ID Card Fees To obtain an original ID, a renewal, or to replace an ID, you must pay $25. If the ID has expired before you've renewed it, there is a late fee of $15 to add on to the $25. For payment, all Florida DMV's accept the following methods:
- Discover Card
- American Express
FL ID Card Renewal
Renewal of your Florida ID can be done online, over the phone, or at your local DMV office.
In order to renew your license online, you must satisfy the following:
- Your current identification card must have a picture of you on it.
- You do not have a driver's license. You only have an ID card.
- You performed your last renew at a DMV office instead of online.
In order to complete the renewal process online, please check out the Florida GoRenew website. On the website, you will need to enter:
- Your Florida identification number.
- Your birth date.
- The last four digits of your SSN.
The renewal fee that you will need to pay is $25.
NOTE: There's a one-time convenience renewal that can only be used one time before renewing in person becomes mandatory.
For those who have a FL ID card but have done the renewal process online the last time around, you have to go in person to a DMV office in order to renew your ID card. You'll also need to bring proof of identity, SSN documents, and proof of your address. The FL ID card renewal will cost $25.
FL ID Card Replacement
If you need a replacement ID card, you may be able to do so either online or in person at the DHSMV.
For replacement of your ID card online, please check out the GoRenew website and enter in your:
- Primary ID. This will likely be your Florida identification number. For those who have lost or don't know their number, you've got to get your replacement in person.
- Birth date.
- Last 4 numbers of SSN.
At the FL DMV, you will need
to bring proof of identity, SSN, and your address. The replacement fee will be $25. Please take a look at the "Applying for a Florida ID Card" section to determine acceptable documents.
Changing Florida Identification Card Information
Florida Address Change
In Florida, you must update your address in 10 days or less after you have moved. Your address can be changed online, through the mail, or in person at a DMV office.
The Florida DMV has an online form for a change of address. You must enter in:
- Your Florida identification card number.
- Your date of birth.
- The last four numbers of your SSN.
Through the Mail
For a change of address through the mail, you must perform the following actions:
- Download and fill out a change of address form.
- Mail that form and a $25 check/money order to the "Division of Driver Licenses" to the address stated on the change of address form.
You should schedule an appointment with your closest DMV office if you would like to change your address in person. You should be prepared to show you are a U.S. citizen or are legally present if you are a non-citizen trying to get a replacement ID card. You should also bring proof of address along with the documents underneath the "Applying for a FL ID Card" section.
Florida Name Changes
You can make a name change on your FL ID card by visiting your local DHSMV office.
NOTE: Those who are not a citizen have to show an INS document indicating your name change prior to showing up at the DMV. To change your name on your ID card, you must follow the three following steps:
- Schedule a visit online.
- Bring proof of your name change along with all the other proof of identity documents under the "Applying for a FL ID Card" section from above. You should also be ready to prove you're a citizen or legal presence in the U.S. for those who are not citizens.
- Pay the fee of $25 for a replacement ID.
Military or Out-of-State ID Cards in Florida
Those from Florida who are members of the military, residents or otherwise, can also use the three steps above for applying for an ID card. If you are stationed in a different state, but your ID card is about to hit its expiration, you can go online to renew it if you did your previous renewal at the DMV, through the mail, or over the phone. You should also know that your ID Card will be mailed to the address that you have on file with the Florida DMV.
For information on How to Apply for a New CA Driver's License in California, click: How to Apply for a New CA Driver's License in California
For information on How to Change Your California Address, click: How to Change Your California Address
- For information About How to Register a Car in California, click: How to Register a Car in California
- For information About How to Register a Car in Florida click: How to Register a Car in Florida
- For information About California ID Cards click: California ID Cards
- For information About How to Perform a Florida Drivers License Check, click: How to Perform a Florida Drivers License Check
- Stay updated on your California driver's license status and renewals with ease using our "Check Drivers License Status CA and License Renewals" service.
- For More Information On Lost Arizona License, Click: Lost Arizona License? Get A New One Online
- For More Information On Texas Driving Records, Click : Texas Driving Records: Everything You Need to Know