Speeding Tickets in Different States:
Speeding tickets may be caused by all kinds of reasons, but there's no changing that it never feels good to get them. Even if you have the disposable income to pay for one, you probably can't stop thinking of all the things you could have bought with that money. Plus, chances are it's coinciding with other unforeseen fines in your life (because it just seems to work out that way for whatever reason.)
Not to mention, you're out the time of trying to get it all taken care of too. We can't help you with all of it, but what we can do is give you a quick guide if you need to calculate how much your speeding ticket will be and potential options out of this mess.
With millions of tickets given out for speeding in Florida, you can at least take slight comfort in the fact that you're not alone. However, before we give you the charges for the tickets you should know that there are potentially other factors at play as well.
If you're cited at going 16 miles or over on the road or for reckless driving, you're looking at 4 points on your license, and you're getting 3 if you're going under 15 miles over. If you get 12 points within a year, your license will be suspended for a month. If you get 18 within 18 months, you're looking at 3 months suspension, and if you get 24 within 3 years, then you'll have no license for a full year. Just 6 points within 12 months may get you a restricted license within Florida, so your car can only be used for business purposes.
Fines and Stuff
The exact fine you'll pay will depend on your county, and some are more reasonable than others. For example, in Hillsborough County, you may get a warning only if you're pulled over going 1 to 5 miles an hour over the limit. However, if you do so in a school zone or construction zone, you'll be charged $143. Go 6 to 9 over the limit, and you're looking at $118 in a regularly zones neighborhood and $143 for the school and construction areas. Speeding 10 to 14 miles over will land you at $193 and $293 respectfully, while 15 to 19 will be $243 and $393. Up to 29 miles over, and you're looking at $268 and $443.
In other parts of Florida, you can expect fines to potentially double based on the county for school/construction zones. After that, you'll need to talk to a judge (mandated.) Click here to search the zip code where you were cited.
Going a Different Direction
Instead of just taking the points and the fines, you may be able to take an online FL traffic school to help you out of this mess.
Florida is actually pretty generous when it comes to those who want to improve their skills on the road. Instead of penalizing drivers and causing them to hate the system, drivers can instead take a defensive driving class which will hopefully make the whole state safer.
FL traffic school can not only take care of the points, but you may be able to reduce the fines as well. And, as if that weren't enough, you can actually appeal to your insurance carrier to give you a better rate as well on your insurance. Taking an online traffic school also lets you keep your schedule pretty much as is, so there are even fewer reasons why this shouldn't be a viable option to you. Check into it before you just accept your expensive fate!
FLORIDA SPEEDING TICKET COST TABLE
|M.P.H. OVER LIMIT||
|1 - 5 m.p.h.||Usually Let Go||$50.00-$143.00||3 Points|
|6 - 9 m.p.h||$118.00-$151.00||$143.00-$176.00||3 Points|
|10 - 14 m.p.h.||$193.00-$226.00||$293.00-$326||3 Points|
|15 - 19 m.p.h.||$243.00-$276.00||$393.00-$426.00||4 Points|
|20 - 29 m.p.h.||$268.00-$301.00||$443.00-$476||4 Points|
|30 or more m.p.h||$343.00-$376.00||$555.50-$588.00||4 Points|