After you receive a FL traffic ticket, you may qualify to pay it either online, through the mail, over the phone, or by visiting your local DMV. It will depend on the court in charge of your case. If you choose to contest the violation, you will need to attend your court date. For those who have lost their traffic ticket, you can talk with the court to obtain the information needed to proceed.
Traffic Ticket Penalties and Fines
The actual amount you may owe for a traffic ticket will likely vary from county to county. Along with the fine and points on your record, you might also be stuck paying for surcharges as well. The actual amount you owe generally depends on the severity of the violation and the kind of ticket you've gotten. (ex. running stop sign, failing to yield, etc)
NOTE: If you rack up too many points on your record in a one-year period, you may have to pay additional fines and may even have your license suspended.
Having Points Removed
You may complete a defensive driving course upon getting a traffic ticket. This can help you:
- Get a reduction of points or have them completely removed from your driving record.
- Avoid higher auto insurance premiums.
If you choose to take a defensive driving course, you have to let your court know about it in 30 days or less after receiving your ticket.
NOTE: You will be subject to an additional fee from the county clerk for electing to take a defensive driving course.
Payment of FL Traffic Tickets
In Florida, you may pay off a traffic violation in the following ways:
- Over the web.
- Through the mail.
- Over the phone.
- At your local DMV office.
Be sure to take a look at your traffic ticket to check for payment requirements or call the traffic court in charge of your case. For those who have lost their ticket, please read below.
Fighting a Florida Traffic Ticket
If you think you got a traffic violation unfairly, you have to option to contest it in court. Read the instructions on the ticket or get a hold of the court in charge of your case for further details. If you want to plead not guilty to your violation, you must show up in court to have a hearing. In some cases, it may be a good idea to get a traffic ticket attorney.
NOTE: After your appearance in court, if you're convicted, you can complete a defensive driving course to have your ticket dismissed along with the points it would add to your driving record.
Lost Traffic Tickets
To replace your lost FL traffic ticket, you will usually have to contact the county clerk in the area in which you received the violation.
Commercial Drivers: Fines and Penalties
For those with a CDL who have gotten a FL traffic ticket, you have to tell your employer about it in 30 days or less after having been convicted of the violation. Depending on the exact violation, you may have fines, a CDL suspension, or have your CDL permanently taken away.
Severe Traffic Violations
Severe traffic violations have higher penalties associated with them. You are looking at higher fines and sometimes automatic suspension of your driver's license. Severe traffic violations might be:
- Reckless driving.
- Performing a hit-and-run.
- Operating a vehicle under the influence of any drug or alcohol.