Encouraging good driving habits is something the Nevada DMV is working to do. As a result, the organization has implemented a point system. The accumulation of points isn't a good thing. When you violate a driving law, points are added to your license. If they add up, you can be suspended or lose your driver's license for good.
What's the Nevada DMV Point Scale?
The following are some of the most common reasons people receive points on their license. If you break these traffic laws, you can expect that these points will be added to your license.
- 8 Points - Reckless driving charges
- 6 Points - Careless driving charges
- 4 Points - Following other drivers too closely
- 4 Points - Not stopping for a pedestrian
- 4 Points - Not stopping at a required light or sign
- 4 Points - Failing to give the right of way
- 2 Points - Driving significantly under the speed limit
In addition to these points, the organization also has points in place for those who speed. Below is the Nevada scale based on how many miles-per-hour you were driving over the posted traffic speed limit.
- 5 Points - Driving more than 41 miles over the speeding limit
- 4 Points - Driving between 31 and 40 miles over the speeding limit
- 3 Points - Driving between 21 and 30 miles over the speeding limit
- 2 Points - Driving 11 to 20 miles over the speeding limit
- 1 Point - Driving 1 to 10 miles over the speeding limit
If you hold a commercial driver's license, these points may be significantly higher.
The Penalties You Could Face
In most situations, if you accumulate 12 or more points on your driving record within a 12-month period, you will lose your license automatically for at least six months. You may be able to appeal this decision through the Office of Administrative Hearings. You will receive a notice from the Driver License Review Section if you accumulate three or more points. Those points will remain on your record for a period of 12 months from the date of the conviction.
In some cases, you may be able to reduce the number of points you have by enrolling in a driving school, especially a defensive driving program.
Is a Driving School an Option?
By attending one of the DMV-approved safety traffic schools, you may be able to remove up to three points from your driving record. The state does not allow, however, for point reductions as a part of a plea bargain agreement.
You may be able to enroll in an approved program one time every 12 months to reduce these points (you will need to allow the points to be on your record before you enroll in the program.) You may be able to complete the program right at home online.
How to Check Your Driver's License
You have the right to know how many points you have and to ensure there is no mistake in their calculation. Your driving record is available through the Nevada DMV offices. The report provides information about how many points you have and why you've received them.
Getting Your Suspended License Back
It may be possible to get your license back if it was previously suspended. To do so, you will need to look for a notification from the Nevada DMV about the suspension including when it is scheduled to end.
Other Potential Penalties
Keep in mind that points on your driving record can lead to increases in insurance costs. To keep your insurance rates low, be sure to enroll in a traffic school to reduce the points you have. This could save you a significant amount of money.
- Ensure your driving record is up to date - Perform a Florida Drivers License Check today at Florida Drivers License Check!
- Unlock the journey to getting your California driver's license - Learn more at California Driver’s License!
- Discover the hidden history of California license plates - Check your plate now at California License Plate Check!