Whether you were pulled over for zipping down the strip in Las Vegas or issued a citation for barreling down a backroad outside of Carson City, dealing with a speeding ticket in Nevada probably isn't your idea of a good time. That's for a good reason. Not only can a speeding ticket put a severe dent in your wallet, but you'll also be assessed points that could result in a license suspension or worse.
Your Nevada speeding citation will vary based on where you received your ticket, how fast you were going, and whether or not you were speeding in a school or work zone. Expect to pay at least $100 and as much as $420 or more depending on your circumstances.
So, what determines exactly how much you'll pay for your speeding ticket? In Nevada, the penalties for speeding may not exceed $20 for each 1 mph over the speed limit your traveling. The amount of points that may be assessed to your license is also based on how much faster you were traveling than the posted speed limit. Let's take a look:
Now is the Perfect Time to Go Back to School! Grant Funding May Be Available to Those Who Qualify
- Grant programs Provide up to $6,895
- Explore Financial Aid Options
- What subjects are you interested in?
NEVADA SPEEDING TICKET COSTS:
- 5 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $100 fine and 1 points added
- 10 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $200 fine and 2 points added
- 15 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $300 fine and 2 points added
- 20 m.p.h. over the speed limit: $400 fine and 3 points added
- 21+ m.p.h. over the speed limit: $420+ fine and 4 points added
How does the Nevada driver's license points system work?
The points you accrue on your license are a different matter altogether. The Nevada point system works on a 12-month system. Accumulate 12 points within 12 months, and you're looking at a potential 6-month license suspension. If you do not reach the 12-point threshold within a year, the points on your license are lifted, though you should note that traffic convictions will remain on your permanent record.
Individual courts, judges, and law enforcement have a lot of leeway in determining the penalties you may face. A first-time speeding ticket could carry some serious costs and points added to your license depending on the circumstances in which you received it.
The following cases can carry additional penalties:
- Speeding between 1 and 15 mph over the limit in a school zone adds a 4-point license penalty
- Speeding more than 15 mph over the limit in a school zone adds a 6-point penalty
- Any form of reckless driving, defined as traveling over 85 mph in any situation or endangering lives other than your own, adds an 8-point penalty
How to Address a Speeding Ticket in Nevada
No one likes getting a speeding ticket, but failing to address it can cause long-term problems for the state of your license, your insurance rate, and potentially, your freedom. Getting ahead of the issue is the best course of action, and the first step in doing so is finding out exactly what you're dealing with.
Receiving a speeding ticket in Nevada doesn't have to break the bank, or create long term complications you'd rather not deal with. In many cases, taking a NV DMV approved defensive driving course will be your best option. Whichever path you choose to follow knowing what you're up against in terms of fees, fines, and penalties as well as the options you have to minimize them is the first step to putting your troubles behind you.