Whether you received a red light ticket for a failure to stop on Buford Drive by the Mall of Georgia, or got pulled over for an illegal turn at an intersection near State Farm Arena, you could be on the hook for some serious money. Receiving a traffic ticket in Georgia can not only put a severe dent in your wallet, but you'll also be assessed points that could result in a license suspension or worse.

Your Georgia red light citation will vary based on the circumstances of your ticket. Expect to pay at least $70 and as much as $1000 or more depending on your the nature of your violation and your current license standing.

What are the criteria that will determine how much you have to pay? Let's take a look:

In Georgia there are 2 primary forms of red light violations: red light camera violations, and moving violations.

Georgia Red Light Camera Violation

Surveillance cameras point at a road.

Georgia is one of many states that allows red light cameras to issue citations. The penalties for these are less harsh than being issued a citation by a law enforcement officer. In Georgia, these automated camera red light citations are not considered moving violations.

What does this mean?

A red light camera ticket carries a fee of $70, but does not add any points to your license. It also cannot be used against you for the purposes of your insurance premiums. You just have to pay the $70 fine and it'll be like it never happened.

You can pay your ticket, as well as review your case, the video of your incident, and more online.

Georgia Red Light Moving Violations Explained

Waist up portrait of young Asian woman panicking while standing among cardboard boxes in empty room and looking at camera with big eyes after moving.

Receiving a ticket for a red light violation of any kind in Georgia means a few things. First of all, if your license is in good standing, you're looking at a fee between $200 and $300 dollars, but that's just the beginning.


  • Red Light Camera Minimum Penalty: $70 fine and 0 points added
  • Red Light Camera Maximum Penalty: (with late fees) $170 fine and 0 points added
  • Minimum Penalty if Stopped: $158 and 3 points added to your license
  • Maximum Penalty if Stopped: $1000 fine and 3 points added

Maximum Violation

It's unlikely but, depending on the nature of your violation, you could face the maximum penalties for a moving violation. That means paying as much as $1000 dollars and even going to jail for 12 months for your red light citation. Then there are the points you'll be adding to your license.

License Points

When found guilty of a moving violation points will be added to your license, which can result in an increase to your insurance premiums, or worse, as well as an eventual suspension of your driver's license. Each red light violation in Georgia, unless you have committed additional violations at the same time, adds 3 points to your license.

Georgia Diver License Points System Explained

Businesswoman pointing figure numbers of total sales comparing between global regions

You face potential consequences as you accumulated license points in Georgia. If you are younger than 21 years of age and rack up 4 points within a 24-month period, your license will be suspended.

Drivers 21 years old and older will have theirs suspended if the accumulate 15 points or more within 15 months.

Georgia Red Light Ticket Options

So, you've received a ticket. You know how much it's likely to cost you and you know how many points you're facing if found guilty. The question is, what are your options now? Thankfully, you have several:

Pay the fine

The simplest option will always be to pay your ticket, but there are a few things you should know about doing so. First, by paying your ticket you are in effect pleading guilty to your violation. This means that you will have to pay the full amount of penalties and court costs, as well as be assessed the 3 points to your license for being convicted of a red light violation.

Contest Your Ticket

You always have the option to enter a not guilty plea with the court and contest your ticket. You could win and have your charges dismissed entirely. However, you risk spending additional time and money doing so, and there is no guarantee that you will succeed. You should consider professional representation if you lose your case and you'll be liable for any additional court and lawyer fees, your original fine. Not to mention you'll still face the dreaded increase in your auto insurance premium.

Red Light Ticket Dismissal Through a Defensive Driving Course

You may be eligible to take have your ticket dismissed, or up to 7 points removed from your license, by taking a defensive driving course. If you are, you'll be able to dismiss your ticket, and avoid points being added to your license as well as potential increases to your insurance premiums.

The steps to successfully dismissing your ticket through driver education are simple:

  • Plead guilty or no contest to your speeding ticket
  • Request permission to take a defensive driving course
  • Register for a GA DDS approved defensive driving course
  • Complete your defensive driving course

  • Submit your driver record and defensive driving certificate of completion to the court

Note that you may only take a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal, point reduction, or insurance discount of any and every kind, once every 5 years.

Making Your Red Light Ticket a Distant Memory

Smiling young woman reads confirmation of her ticket dismissal on her smartphone.

Receiving a red light ticket in Georgia doesn't have to break the bank, or create long term complications you'd rather not deal with like a license suspension or increased auto insurance rates. In many cases, taking a defensive driving course could be your best option. Whichever path you choose to follow knowing what you're up against in terms of fees, fines, and penalties as well as the options you have to minimize them is the first step to putting your troubles behind you.

You can possibly prevent your license from being suspended by taking a defensive driving course, and could even help you save money on your insurance premiums.

No one likes getting a red light ticket, but failing to address it can cause long-term problems for the state of your license, your insurance rate, and potentially, your freedom. Getting ahead of the issue is the best course of action, and knowing what you'll need to pay is the first step toward putting the whole thing behind you.