DUI penalties in Florida are unforgiving. The first reaction most people have is to figure out how to beat a DUI ticket. Getting that DUI dismissed is a major challenge. You may have to resort to finding a good DUI lawyer in your area.
DUI lawyers help contest your Florida traffic ticket. You do not have to hire a lawyer, but they may be able to help you, especially if you have only committed your first offense DUI mistake. However, if you are unsuccessful in contesting the ticket in court for ticket dismissal, you could face severe penalties.
How to Fight a DUI Ticket
If you’re trying to get some DUI cases dropped, you should find a lawyer. A DUI lawyer will review your case to find the best strategy for fighting your DUI ticket.
The sooner you work with a lawyer, the greater the chance you’ll have at getting your DUI charges dropped. The DMV hearing occurs within days after your first arrest.
How to Get a DUI Dropped
Getting DUI cases dismissed must be done with careful navigation of the law. Often, you can spot the opportunity to get your DUI dropped proceeding the events of arrest.
Police officers must follow a strict procedure when arresting someone for driving under the influence. When they fail to follow this procedure, the case can lead to a dismissal. DUI lawyers or attorneys can examine your case to pinpoint these moments.
Penalties for DUI Violations
The penalties for driving under the influence are severe in the state of Florida. The repercussions grow more serious the more times you commit this violation. These consequences worsen if you cause an injury or death.
When your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or greater, you’re under the influence of a chemical or controlled substance; you’re committing a DUI.
The penalties for committing a DUI are as follows:
- Driver’s license suspension or revocation from 180 days to one 1 year
- Attendance to a DUI program and fee payment of $15
- An administrative fee of $130
- The reinstatement fee for your driver’s license:
- Suspended license reinstatement: $45
- Revoked license reinstatement: $75
- Maintain an FF-44 certificate of financial responsibility for at least 3 years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device and fee payment of $12
With the consequences this severe, researching how to get out of a DUI is a good idea.
Frequent FL DUI Convictions
Committing more than one DUI, within a certain time frame of one another, will result in major ticket fine payments, jail time, and extreme penalties against your driver’s record.
Second DUI convictions could result in the same fees as your first conviction, plus a fine anywhere from $1,000 to $2,000. Along with this, you could get your license suspended or revoked for up to five years.
Third DUI convictions mean heavy fines from $2,000 to $5,000. You can also get your license suspended for five to ten years depending on when you committed your previous violation.
Finally, the fourth DUI conviction will be an additional five years without the opportunity for a hardship license. In addition to this, you will face a minimum fine of $2,000 and upwards of five years in jail.
DUI Violators Under the Age of 21
Drivers under the age of 21, who have a BAC of 0.02% or more, will be charged with a DUI in the state of Florida. They will also be faced with an automatic license suspension of six months. Second DUI violators will be given a 1-year suspension. Also, refusing to take a BAC test will result in a 1-year to 18-month suspension.
DUI violations carry severe penalties that can sometimes be mitigated through a traffic school advanced driving improvement course. The best course of action is to practice safe, defensive driving avoid DUIs altogether!