How to Handle a Polk County TicketIf you receive a traffic ticket anywhere in Polk County Florida, you can complete your Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course requirements online. Completing your Polk County BDI course using Improv's Florida online traffic school ensures that you will laugh while you learn. That's right, you can actually enjoy learning with this online program. It does not matter if you received your citation in Bartow, Auburndale, Davenport, Polk City, Winter Haven, Lakeland or any of the other cities located in Polk county Florida, completing Improv's comedy traffic school program will help you get your ticket removed from your driving record.
Your Options in Relation to Traffic ViolationsYou have 30 calendar days from the date of your traffic ticket to choose which option you would like to use to satisfy your violation:
- Enter a Not-Guilty plea and go to court.
- Pay the fine listed on the yellow copy of your ticket.
- Choose to take a driver improvement course.
The Benefits of Choosing Polk County Traffic SchoolThere are two benefits to choosing traffic school:
- You will not receive any points against your driver's license.
- Your violation will be entered as 'adjudication withheld' on your driver history record.
Moving Violations/ Civil InfractionsA civil traffic infraction is a violation that is not punishable by jail. Non-criminal civil traffic infractions can usually be disposed of by paying a fine or attending a defensive driving course. Generally, a court appearance isn't required. However, for certain traffic violations court appearances are required. These violations include:
- Driving more than 30 mph above the speed limit.
- The traffic violation causes serious bodily injury to someone else.
- Leaving a child under the age of six alone in a vehicle.
Paying Your Polk County Traffic TicketsRemember that In order to keep your driver’s license from being suspended, you need to pay any fees and make your decision to attend traffic school within 30 days of the date of your ticket.
In-personIf you want, you can make your payment in-person at the office of the Clerk of the Polk County Circuit Court or you can make your payment at one of the locations listed below:
- Branch Courthouse 930 East Parker Street Room 240 Lakeland, Florida 33801 Hours - 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Bartow Courthouse 255 North Broadway Avenue Bartow, Florida 33830 Hours - 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Haines City and Winter Haven Branches Northeast Polk County Government Center 3425 Lake Alfred Road 7 Gill Jones Plaza Winter Haven, Florida 33881 Hours - 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- The Lakeland branch at 614 East Memorial Boulevard
- The Winter Haven branch at 111 Cypress Garden Boulevard
Pay OnlineTo use Polk County's online payment system, you need a credit card. You will need to key in your citation number. If there is an additional number after your four number-three alpha format, do not enter this number. It is a check-digit and not part of your actual citation number. Make sure to enter your date of birth as MMDDYYYY without any slashes or hyphens.
Pay by PhonePaying by phone using a credit card is simple. Call 1-877-716-1781 to reach the Polk County's automated payment system for Traffic Citations.
By MailYou can use the envelope provided by the police officer to pay your fine or you can mail your fine to: Clerk of the Circuit Court Polk County, Florida P.O. Box 9000 Drawer CC-10 Bartow, Florida 33831-9000 If you choose to pay by mail, your payment must arrive by the date it is due. Otherwise, you may be charged late fees and your driver's license could be suspended.
EligibilityIf you are charged with a traffic citation that is related to a non-moving or moving violation, you can take a Polk County traffic school course to keep points from accumulating on your driver record. Other violations, such as those that involve vehicle registration, driver’s licenses and proof on insurance are not eligible for a defensive driving course in Polk County. In addition, if you have taken more than five BDI courses or a driver improvement course within the past 12 months, you are not eligible to take a traffic school in Polk County. Note that commercial license holders are not eligible for traffic school if their violation occurred in a commercial vehicle. If you are not sure whether you are able to choose traffic school, you can find out by visiting Florida's DHSMV website. Their driver's license traffic school checker tool will help determine your eligibility.
Choosing to Take a Polk County Defensive Driving ProgramOnce you know you are eligible and decide to take a Polk County approved traffic school, you need to make your election at your local Clerk's Office, or by mail. You must complete the affidavit within 30 calendar days of your ticket's date. Make sure your read the affidavit carefully. You need to have your signature notarized and then return your affidavit to the Clerk's Office in the envelope provided. It is important to note that most banks have a notary on staff that can notarize your affidavit for you. Include your money order or check for the civil penalty required for your citation. Make sure you allow enough time for your affidavit and fine to be received by the Clerk's Office within the 30 calendar days required.
Receiving a ticket in Polk County doesn't have to break the bank, or create long term complications you'd rather not deal with. In many cases, taking a FLHSMV approved defensive driving course will be your best option. Whichever path you choose to follow knowing what you're up against in terms of fees, fines, and penalties as well as the options you have to minimize them is the first step to putting your troubles behind you.
Choosing the Traffic School that is Right for YouDepending on your infraction there are several traffic school courses you may be eligible for:
- 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI)
- 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) Course Ordered by the Court
- 4-Hour Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
- 8-Hour Intermediate Driver Improvement/Aggressive Driving Course