How to Handle a Duval County Ticket

Duval County Florida Online Traffic School

If you received a traffic citation anywhere in Duval County Florida, you can complete your Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course online.

It does not matter whether you received your traffic ticket in Atlantic Beach, Jacksonville Beach, Jacksonville, Baldwin, Neptune Beach or any of the other cities located in Duval County Florida; your ticket can be removed from your driving record once you complete your online traffic school course.


Florida Traffic School by Improv Comedy Club's Duval County courses are approved by Florida's Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

Moving Violations

There are several types of moving violations. These violations include:

  • Running Stop Signs
  • Speeding
  • Driving Carelessly

Your Options Concerning Traffic Citations

  1. Enter a guilty plea and pay the required fine. The fine required by law is listed on the yellow copy of your traffic ticket.
  2. You must request your Civil Court date within 90 days of the date of your citation and for a Criminal Court date, your request must be submitted within 30 days. You can request your court date via fax (904-255-2358), mail, by appearing in person or on the Traffic Citation System. If you are requesting a date by mail, you need to include a self-addressed stamped envelope.
  3. If eligible, you can elect to complete a Duval County Driver Improvement course. Taking one of the courses offered by Improv is the best choice if you want to complete your course online, from home and at your own pace. Once you complete your course, you simply mail-in or bring your proof of completion certificate and Driver Improvement election fee to the Clerk of Courts Traffic Violations Bureau.

Duval County Traffic School Course Options

With Improv, choosing the Duval County online BDI course that is right for you is both fast and easy.

The courses offered by Improv include:

  • 4-Hour BDI Course

  • Completing this course will keep points off your driving record.

  • 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Ordered by the Court

  • This course is designed for you if you have been ordered to take a BDI course in Duval County.

  • 4-Hour Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
    If the Florida DHSMV sent you a letter indicating that you must take a TCAC course, this is the course to fulfill this requirement. You can meet the Florida Department of Motor Vehicle’s (DMV) requirements to avoid a license suspension upon completion of this course.
  • 8-Hour Intermediate Driver Improvement/Aggressive Driving Course

  • This course is for you if you are ordered by the court to take an 8-hour aggressive driving or driver improvement course.

The Duval County 4-Hour BDI course offered by Improv is 100% online and gives you unlimited privileges to login/logout. This allows you to take your Duval County Florida traffic school course from home. You can complete your course all at once or in small increments.

If your Duval County traffic tickets deadline is approaching and you need to complete your course, it is simple with Improv. You can start and finish your Duval County traffic school course in one day. Improv includes your completion certificate in your course. Once you complete the course, your certificate is available to download in just 30 minutes.

Feb. 1, 2009 - Pursuant to SB 12A; Florida Statute 318.14 (9)

According to this statute, you cannot receive an 18 percent reduction for electing traffic school. If you choose to take and then complete a course through an approved Driver Improvement School, you receive what is termed a 'withhold of adjudication' and no points are applied to your driving record.

Once you complete your Duval County driving school course, the Clerk of Courts Traffic Violations Bureau must receive your certificate of completion.

Eligibility

You are NOT eligible to complete a driver improvement course to receive a 'Withhold of Adjudication' and avoid receiving points if:

  • You have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
  • You have taken a driver improvement course in the past 12 months
  • You have already taken more than five BDI courses

Paying Your Duval County Traffic Tickets

In order to prevent a suspended driver's license, you must comply with your citation by the 90th day from its issue date. If your citation relates to faulty equipment, you only have 30 days to show proof that the faulty equipment is fixed.

If you choose to mail your citation payment or transaction, it must reach the Clerk's Office within 90 days from the date of your violation. There is no grace period and postmarks are not taken into consideration. You are not permitted to place anything related to your citation in a drop box at a Tax Collector’s Office and remember to never mail cash.

You may choose to pay your Duval County Florida traffic school election fee in or fine by mailing the required amount to:

The Clerk of the Circuit Court
Traffic Violations Bureau
P.O. Box 660
Jacksonville, Florida 32201

You can pay your Civil Traffic Violations in person at the locations listed below:

Traffic Violations Bureau
501 West Adams Street
Jacksonville
Located in the Duval County Courthouse
Hours - 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Beaches Branch
1543 Atlantic Boulevard
Neptune Beach
Located in Tradewinds Plaza
Hours - 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

The locations listed above are not open on approved city holidays.

Paying Your Fine via the Telephone

You can pay your fine using the telephone 24 hours a day, every day of the week. Once you make your payment, the system gives you a verbal receipt. There is a $9.95 fee associated with paying your fine by telephone.

Paying with Master Card or Visa Using the Telephone:

  • Dial 1-904-255-2390
  • Press 2
  • Key in your citation number
  • Key in the number on your credit card and its expiration date

Pay Using the Internet

Paying your fine with a credit card is quick and easy with the online traffic citation site.

Civil traffic fines that require a proof of compliance or that are being paid late cannot be paid by telephone or online. These fines must be paid in person or through the mail.

Payment Plans

Civil Traffic and Criminal Traffic infraction requires a $25 initial setup fee plus the first payment and all applicable late fees.

Any payments that are missed result in a suspension of your license or a late fee.

If you miss two payments, you are required to pay the remaining amount in full.

Reinstating a Suspended License

The Clerk's Office may reinstate your license after you pay a $60.00 fee. To find out if you are eligible for reinstatement in this way, you need to contact the Traffic Violations Bureau.

Unless otherwise specified, you should use the following address to correspond with the County Traffic Department by mail:

Ronnie Fussell, Clerk of Courts
Traffic Violations Bureau
P.O. BOX 660
Jacksonville, Florida 32201


Duval County Florida Online Traffic School