A Florida drivers license renewal means a fresh new start with a fresh new license. The Florida DMV license renewal process is even better than ever. You have the option to renew your drivers license online, through the mail, or in person. You now have the option to do your Florida DMV license renewal in person or online.Getting your license replaced is also becoming efficient. The Florida driver license replacement process is no longer a painstaking process, and we’ll show you why. Pretty soon, you’ll be going through the Florida license replacement process just for fun - maybe that’s a hyperbole.
What is a License Renewal?
A license renewal is when the owner of a driver’s license updates their identification and certifies their status as a license holder for a future, extended amount of time. This is to ensure the information and possession of the license are current. While driving without a renewed license, you could face fees for violating the laws of the road.
How do you Renew your License?
Now that you know what a license renewal is, how exactly do you do it?For Florida, you can renew your license several ways: online, through the mail, or in person at the local DMV office branch. Each process has its pros and cons. However, the state recommends to renew your Florida license online through the GoRenew.com service. Doing so will save you a trip to the local branch for a Florida DMV renewal.The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV) permits license holders the opportunity to update Florida drivers licenses 18-months prior to the expiration date. When you fail to renew before your license expires, you could be paying additional late fees.When you renew your license, you will have to provide the correct documentation and payment of a renewal fee.
Requirements to Renew your Florida License
Meeting the necessary requirements will help you renew your license. You will have to provide specific documentation to provide proof of your identification. The following Florida drivers license renewal documents are required by the DMV before processing your renewal:
- Social Security Number
- Residence in the state of Florida
- Proof of identification (such as a passport)
If you can’t provide these forms of documentation, you will not be able to renew your license. If you are over the age of 80, you will have to pass a vision test provided to you by the DMV. Unfortunately, you can’t take your vision test online.
Associated Fees with Renewing your License
Everyone must pay a fee to renew their license. In the state of Florida, the DMV advises that you call ahead to ensure the correct payment amount before arriving. The standard fee for renewing your Class E license is $48.However, depending on the class of license you’re updating, you could pay more. You can also encounter late fees, if you are renewing after the expiration date on your driver’s license. Delinquent license renewals can face a minimum charge of $63.
Renewing a Suspended License
If your license is suspended, you could still renew it. In other words, the DMV doesn’t provide much excuse not to renew your license. You will have to follow the same procedure of renewing your license as a non-suspended 13license holder will. You will also have to provide:
- Your current driver’s license
- Social security card
- A utility bill in your name
As a result, you’ll have an updated, but still suspended, driver’s license. You can’t use it, but at least you won’t have to pay a late fee.