If you are a holder of a California commercial driver’s license (CDL), you should be aware of some significant changes in the traffic laws in the state that can benefit you. Until last year, CDL holders who got a citation, even while driving their personal vehicle, put their jobs at risk. Now, thanks to the change, CDL holders can attend traffic school in certain circumstances. Why is that important?
By attending a convenient online traffic school, drivers with these off-duty citations may be able to get them suppressed or even dismissed upon completion of traffic school. This means punitive ramifications from employers will be limited. Prior to the change, many drivers faced disciplinary probation from their employers upon getting such a ticket. Some companies used a zero tolerance policy, which meant the loss of a job when a personal citation was received.
A Look at What The Law Changes
The Legislature’s passage of AB 1888 means the following:
- After successfully completing traffic school, any points received for a qualifying violation will be removed from the CDL holder’s personal driving record.
- The violation will still be able to be viewed by insurance companies and may affect the driver’s auto insurance rates.
- Violations will still be record on the Commercial Driver’s License records.
- For drivers who are convicted two additional times within the 3 years following the initial off-duty traffic violation, there are still serious penalties.
There are circumstances where traffic school will not suppress or dismiss a personal driving violation. These include:
- Any driving violation that involves the use of alcohol or drugs.
- Excessive speed, which are violations that are 15 mph or more over the posted speed limit.
- Reckless driving including erratic changing of lanes.
Negligent Operator Points
One of the significant plusses of the legislation is that once a violator attends and successfully completes traffic school, any points from the qualifying violation will not be added to his Negligent Operator Points. This is tempered however, with a set of timeline and frequency guidelines.
These timelines are as follows:
- 4 or more M class points within a 1 year period.
- 6 or more M class points within a 2 year period.
- 8 or more M class points within a 3 year period.
CDL operators know regulation and record keeping rules can be complicated, so it is important they follow all procedures following traffic school to get their personal violation properly handled. The new benefits of this regulation doesn't change the fact that safe, defensive driving techniques are still critical for all drivers in the state.
If you are a California CDL license holder, with an off-duty violation, look into the interesting and fun online traffic course at Improv Traffic School. Improv Traffic School is easy to take, affordable and complies with all California regulations for online traffic schools. Take the course at your convenience!