The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles does not use a point system in the state as do many others. They do however place a significant weight on improving driver skills. If you have received traffic tickets in Oregon, you will want to know about the state’s DMV and how you can minimize the financial and driving record damage done through your acquisition of Oregon traffic tickets.
What Are My Options?
If the officer who gave you your Oregon traffic ticket did not give you instructions, you will find them detailed in your citation. Your traffic ticket is the best indication of what you will need to do and by when. Contact the court listed on your citation should you have any questions. The good news is you have options in dealing with your traffic ticket in Oregon. The key is making sure you take action before the date the officer listed for you on your citation. Failure to let the court know of any decision you make by that date will only increase your penalty, potentially lead to license suspension, and even lead to your arrest.
Determine what court has jurisdiction for your citation. City-level tickets will be handled by Municipal Courts, County-level tickets are handled by Justice Courts and in some areas, and County-level tickets are handled by Circuit Courts.
Even though Oregon does not employ a point system, they will suspend your license if you exhibit habitual bad driving habits.
For example, the will suspend your license for 30 days if you have 3 accidents, 3 traffic convictions or 3 of any combination of the two within a year and a half.
In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days if you have 4 traffic convictions, 4 traffic accidents or a combination of 4 of the two within a two year period.
You may also obtain “habitual offender” status if you get convicted of 3 or more crimes involving your vehicle or 20 or more traffic citations within a 5 year time period.
Is A Court Appearance Required?
Your traffic ticket will detail whether or not you need to make a court appearance regarding your citation, but generally only the more severe citations like DUI, reckless operation or juvenile infractions will require your appearance in court. Many minor infractions can be handled by a simple payment of the fine due, also listed on the citation.