How the Point System Works in Georgia

To track drivers who have bad driving habits or those who are otherwise considered incompetent, the Georgia DMV uses a point system. The freedom to drive is not a right but a privilege. Those who are involved in violations of law and are shown to be reckless drivers putting others in dangerous situations, you could have your license suspended for up to six months or more. In other cases, it can be canceled or revoked. Under Georgia law, a license is suspended when an individual accumulates 15 points within a period of 24 months. On the other hand, it can be suspended instantly if you commit a serious driving violation. Those who are under 21 may also have a license suspended if they are convicted or even just one 4-point offense. If you have a suspension or have a cancellation or revocation of your driving privileges, your insurance will likely rise as a result. In some cases, insurance companies will terminate a policy of a driver believed to be too risky to insure. Often, to get your license back, you may be required to take a defensive driving program. This program, if it is offered to you, must be approved by the Department of Driver Services in Georgia. There is also a reinstatement fee of up to $210. The more points you have on your license, the more expensive it is for you to get it back.

Violations and Points

The following are the number of points given based on the situation you are involved in. Judges and the DMV have the ability to adjust this as it sees fit.
  • 6 Points - Unlawfully passing a school bus
  • 6 Points - Conviction of a aggressive driving or suspension for those under 21
  • 4 Points - Reckless driving conviction
  • 4 Points- Improper passing on a curve or a hill
  • 3 Points - Disobedience at any traffic-control device or traffic officer (such as running a red light
  • 3 Points - All other non-stated violations involving a moving vehicle
  • 2 Points - Possession an open container of alcoholic beverage while driving
  • 2 Points - Not having a child in a child restraint (doubles in points for second and third offenses)
  • 1 Point - HOV lane violation (fourth or more offense)
Speeding will also warrant points in the following manner:
  • 6 Points - Driving over 34 miles per hour
  • 4 Points - Driving between 24 and 34 miles per hour over the limit
  • 3 Points - Driving between 19 and 23 miles per hour over the limit
  • 2 Points - Driving between 15 to 18 miles per hour over the limit
Check Your Drivers License Status You can find out how many points you have by requesting a copy of your driving record. Do this from time to time to know what you are facing and to ensure no errors are present on your report. The points will drop off after a length of time, dependent on the specific violation. Get Your License Back You may be able to get your license back after suspension. To do so, visit the customer service center near to you. You may also submit a letter of request with your name, address, driver's license number, birth date, and signature to the following address: Georgia Department of Driver Services PO Box 80477 Conyers, GA 30013 You can also call the agency at (678) 413-8400 or (866) 754-3687.

DMV Point System in Georgia