According to the Georgia Department of Driver services “Georgia’s ‘Super Speeder Law’ defines a Super Speeder as a driver convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph and above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia.” That means cruising along with the top down, the radio blaring and the speedometer just under 76-mph is enough to get you busted big time.
First, you’ll get the standard fees and fines for speeding, then you’ll get an additional $200 Super Speeder state fee, under the ‘Super Speeder Law.’ If you decide not to pay the Super Speeder fee, or don’t pay it within 120 days of your official notice you’ll also get your license suspended or your driving privileges revoked. In addition to that you’ll also have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee to get your license or driving privileges back.
That is an awful lot of punishment for the few extra seconds it might get you to your destination sooner. And, as all defensive drivers know, when you speed you reduce the amount of time you have to react or respond to your environment and greatly increase your chance of a serious crash. We know that your vehicle likely has safety belts and air bags but there is no good reason to test things–just take the manufacturers word for it that they work as intended.
When it comes to speeding there really is never a good time to do it. It won’t get you where you are going that much sooner, but it will burn more gas and greatly increase your chances of having a serious crash. And if you get caught doing it in Georgia it’s also going to cost you a whole lot of money.
Image: zole4 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net