Whether you were received a red light ticket for a failure to stop on the strip in Las Vegas or issued a citation for barreling down a backroad outside of Winnemucca, dealing with a red light ticket in Nevada probably isn't your idea of a good time. That's for a good reason. Not only can a red light ticket put a severe dent in your wallet, but you'll also be assessed points that could result in a license suspension or worse.
The cost of a red light ticket in Nevada varies based on a number of factors. Expect to pay at least $305 and as much as $1000 depending on your circumstances. So, what determines the penalties you're facing if you're issued a red light ticket in Texas?. Let's take a look:
NEVADA RED LIGHT TICKET COSTS:
- Red Light Ticket: $305 fine and 4 points added
- Red Light Ticket in School/Work Zone: $710 fine and 4 points added
- Red Light Ticket Maximum Penalty: $1000 fine and 4 points added
How does the Nevada driver's license points system work?
The points you accrue on your license are a different matter altogether. The Nevada point system works on a 12-month system. Accumulate 12 points within 12 months, and you're looking at a potential 6-month license suspension. If you do not reach the 12-point threshold within a year, the points on your license are lifted, though you should note that traffic convictions will remain on your permanent record.
Individual courts, judges, and law enforcement have a lot of leeway in determining the penalties you may face. A first-time speeding ticket could carry some serious costs and points added to your license depending on the circumstances in which you received it.
In addition to the complexities of where you receive your ticket, Nevada is unique in that a red light ticket is not considered to be a simple infraction, but a misdemeanor offense. A misdemeanor means that you could be facing up to $1000 in fines and a potential 6 months of jail time, not to mention the incident will show up on a background check and very likely increase your auto insurance premiums.
The following cases can carry additional penalties:
- Speeding between 1 and 15 mph over the limit in a school zone adds a 4-point license penalty
- Speeding more than 15 mph over the limit in a school zone adds a 6-point penalty
- Any form of reckless driving, defined as traveling over 85 mph in any situation or endangering lives other than your own, adds an 8-point penalty
How to Address a Red Light Ticket in Nevada
No one likes getting a red light ticket, but failing to address it can cause long-term problems for the state of your license, your insurance rate, and potentially, your freedom. Getting ahead of the issue is the best course of action, and the first step in doing so is finding out exactly what you're dealing with.
Receiving a red light ticket in Nevada doesn't have to break the bank, or create long term complications you'd rather not deal with. In many cases, taking a NV DMV approved defensive driving course will be your best option. Completing a course will likely prevent points from being added to your license and downgrade your misdemeanor to a non-moving violation. Whichever path you choose to follow knowing what you're up against in terms of fees, fines, and penalties as well as the options you have to minimize them is the first step to putting your troubles behind you.