You got caught speeding or making an illegal left turn in Florida, now what do you do?
The easiest, and usually smartest thing to do when you receive any type of Florida traffic ticket, is to take traffic school. What does that mean? We researched our Florida customer service database and pulled the top questions students asked about this topic. To make the process a little bit easier for you, we gathered the answers to those more-than-frequently-asked questions and printed them here:
Q: What is traffic school?
A: Traffic school in Florida, also known as a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course is an driver-related educational course one takes in lieu of receiving points on their driving record from a non-criminal moving violation.
Q: How long is FL traffic school?
A: Per the FL HSMV, traffic school is designed to be 4 hours long.
A: If you take it in a classroom setting, then you will be in there for FOUR HOURS.
A: If you take OUR ONLINE COURSE, you are only required to spend a minimum of 3 hours and 15 minutes in the course. You can complete it at your own pace.
Q: How does FL traffic school work?
A: Although every traffic school presents the FL HSMV Approved material in their own, unique way – FL traffic school basically works like this:
1. Student signs up and registers for traffic school
2. Student takes and completes the course
3. The traffic school reports the completion to the FL HSMV
4. The student submits the proof of Completion Certificate to their traffic court the DMV
5. Student’s traffic ticket is dropped and the points are eliminated
6. Student does not have to do anything else, but is encouraged to follow-up with the traffic court website to confirm their ticket was, “Dismissed By Traffic School.”
Q: How do I sign up for traffic school?
A: First, look here: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/BDIS_providers.html to find an approved traffic school. We are listed under Traffic School by the Improv Comedy Club.
You can sign up for traffic school online, by phone (800-660-8908), by mail or in person. Make sure you pay the bail or fine from the ticket as well as the traffic school process fee.
Q. How do I request traffic school?
A. If you are eligible to take traffic school, you will see an option box on your ticket. By clicking that option box and paying the traffic school administrative fee, you are requesting/agreeing to take traffic school to dismiss your ticket.
You can do this by mail, phone or the court website.
Q: Am I eligible to take FL traffic school?
A: If your ticket and/or courtesy notice says that you are eligible to take traffic school AND you haven’t attended traffic school within 12 months AND have not taken it FIVE (5) TIMES within your lifetime (Florida’s Maximum amount of times you can take traffic school) – then you are eligible.
Q: Wait, how often can I take it?
A: You can take FL traffic school once every 12 months… but only 5 times maximum in your life.
Q: What do you do in traffic school?
A: FL traffic school is comprised of a combination of reading, listening and watching material about Florida traffic laws, defensive driving skills, car facts, traffic statistics and more. You will also take a final quiz at the end of the course.
Q: Can I fail the course?
A: Nope. This is a pass-only course. However, FL HSMV requires traffic schools to administer a 40 multiple-choice question final in which the student must get 32 out of 40 questions correct to pass. You are allowed unlimited attempts to pass.
Q: How do you take FL traffic school online?
A: You can take our MyImprov.com online course on any computer, phone or device that has internet access! It is mostly reading… therefore you will be scrolling down the screen for the most part and occasionally watch (optional-only) videos.
Q. Does traffic school erase the ticket and/or points
A. Beware of the words erased, disappeared, vanished and removed. Points and “The Ticket” are not “erased” from your FL HSMV record. Traffic school will prevent points from appearing on your public driving record, which prevents your insurance company, employer, or others inquiring into your driving background from seeing the violation.
Q: When is FL traffic school due?
A: FL traffic school due dates vary for each county. It ranges from 30-90 days from the date that the citation fine was paid. Check your courtesy notice to confirm!
Q: Do I have to pay for traffic school?
A: Yes. Yes, you do.
Q: But I already paid $7.00+ for traffic school when I paid my ticket!
A: That administrative fee was for the court, for the opportunity to take traffic school. You will pay the traffic school an additional amount.
Q: Ok, how much does it cost?
A: It depends on the traffic school, but did you know, you will get 4 FREE TICKETS to the IMPROV COMEDY CLUB upon completion of our traffic school 😉