Some people are asked to take a defensive driving course after they’ve gotten a ticket. Some people simply want to take a defensive driving course to improve their driving and help them stay safer behind the wheel. No matter the reason, defensive driving courses in Texas are never a bad idea. The fist step is to find out the real cost of defensive driving in Texas. Read on to learn all about defensive driving courses in Texas: what they are, how much they cost, how long they take to complete, the many benefits of these courses and how you can get started today.
What is a Defensive Driving Course
Defensive driving courses are offered in each state in the United States. In short, these courses aim to help people become better drivers.
Defensive driving courses teach safe driving strategies so that drivers can identify hazards on the road, anticipate dangerous situations and make safe decisions alongside all kinds of other drivers. They help drivers gain a new perspective on viewing the road.
Defensive driving courses are different from drivers ed classes. Drivers ed classes generally teach people how to operate a vehicle, all about state driving laws and different driving safety practices. A defensive driving class, on the other hand, teaches people how to drive defensively in order to prevent accidents and not do anything illegal on the road. They teach you how to handle aggressive drivers, extreme weather, obstacles in the road, car malfunctions and emergency situations.
How much money are defensive driving courses in Texas?
In the rest of the United States, defensive driving courses range in price from $15 to $100. In Texas, however, The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation requires that the cost of defensive driving course to be at least $25. You may be able to find a course in Texas for $25, and some may cost up to $100.
The vast majority of people who have taken defensive driving courses say that they are well worth the money.
How long does it take to complete a defensive driving course in Texas?
The length of each defensive driving course varies from state to state, and they are typically four, six or eight hours long. A Texas defensive driving course must take to take a minimum of six hours to complete, and most are six or eight hours.
Most defensive driving places offer courses both in-person and online. If you choose to take an online defensive driving course, you can start and stop the course at your own pace.
What are the benefits of completing a defensive driving course?
There are so many benefits of completing a defensive driving course. Here are just a few:
- Insurance discounts: When you complete this course, simply tell your car insurance company, and you should be able to get a discount on your car insurance that lasts for at least a few years. The insurance discount for defensive driving courses varies from 5% to 20%.
- Dismissal of tickets: Most minor citations in Texas can be dismissed by taking a defensive driving course. However, Texas defensive driving courses can only be used to dismiss one ticket in any 12-month period.
- License point reduction: When you complete a defensive driving course approved by the state of Texas, it will reduce or eliminate any points on your license.
How to Start a Texas Defensive Driving Course
If you’re ready to take a defensive driving course in Texas, MyIMPROV has your covered. With years of experience and fun and engaging courses, IMPROV’s dedication to rethinking the ordinary will help you get through defensive driving in Texas as quickly, easily, and well entertained as possible.
Visit MyIMPROV Texas to get started today!