Now New Jersey legislators are trying to make the requirements for new teen drivers even more strict by requiring them, and their legal parent or guardian, to successfully complete a driver orientation program and provide proof of completion to the driver’s license board before being given their learner’s permit. The new law would be required of all new drivers under the age of 21. The new law would also increase the time they must drive with a learner’s permit from six months to a full 12 months.
Traffic school is a benefit for all drivers, but New Jersey doesn’t stop there.
Right now, new teen drivers in New Jersey who are 16 years old can only obtain a student learner’s permit through a behind-the-wheel driver education course of at least six hours, or wait until they are 17 to get their learner’s permit. They are permitted to drive only with an adult, and with no more than one other passenger in the car other than their parents or guardians. They are totally banned from using any type of hand-held device while behind the wheel and may not drive after 11 p.m. or before 5 a.m., unless they have a special dispensation for driving to work or school. Once they are 17 and have completed the requirements young drivers can get a probationary license which allows unsupervised driving. They must hold this license for a minimum of 12 months in order to qualify for a basic driver license.
Every teen driver is required to ensure every passenger in their vehicle wears a seatbelt and receives a red sticker which they must apply to their license plate to signify they are a teen driving. Also in New Jersey, no court may reduce a moving violation receive by a teen driver.
Fortunate for teen drivers, though they do pose an increased risk to other drivers, they receive a 5 percent discount on their insurance premiums for successfully completing an online traffic school. Plus, the increased practice hasn’t hurt anyone.
Image: photostock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net