If you are curious about FL traffic school, you are not alone. Traffic school is the solution to your traffic ticket woes. Yet most people do not know much about traffic school courses as they have no reason to learn about this offering until they receive a ticket. Let’s look at some of the most frequently asked questions to help you get a better understanding of FL traffic school.
Why Should I take FL Traffic School?
FL traffic school, also known as the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course, provides all sorts of benefits for those who have been ticketed for a traffic violation or simply desire a refresher on the rules of the road and defense driving strategies.
Most students take this course because they received a traffic citation for a basic infraction such as speeding, failure to obey a traffic control device, etc. and are opting to take traffic school to avoid points from appearing on their driving record. Other drivers take the course because they were ordered by the court to do so to avoid points and/or to prevent further action against their license.
Florida drivers as well as out-of-state drivers also take this course if they received a letter from the FLHSMV indicating that they are required to take this course. Normally the FLHSMV will require someone to take the course, also known as TCAC (“Traffic Collision Avoidance Course”) if they were involved in a collision and were also cited for a traffic violation.
A FL driver’s license holder may also receive a letter from the FLDHSMV requiring them to take a course if they were cited in another state, or was cited in Florida for certain violations such as passing a school bus. * Please note that the student’s full SSN is required to be entered on the registration page for the TCAC course.
Why Take IMPROV Traffic School?
The FL BDI course www.MyImprov.com provides will greatly reduce the odds of an auto accident as well as traffic tickets. They provide serious material created in an entertaining and engaging way. A large part of the benefit of their program is the fact that they provide a free mobile app, exams without a proctor and United States-based customer support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
They also provide the easiest quiz allowed by Florida law.
Do I take it before or after I pay the ticket?
You must pay your ticket first. However, once you complete your traffic school course it is possible that the ticket will be dismissed or reduced in severity.
How much is it?
Improv’s FL traffic school is surprisingly affordable and a tough price to beat. Other schools offer courses from $19.95- $39.95. Improv’s cost includes all state fees and a free certificate download. Watch out for other company’s hidden fees! Their program is accepted by all courts in Florida and FLDHSMV.
Do I go to court first?
In most instances, you do not have to go to court before enrolling and completing the traffic school course. If your ticket is eligible to be paid online, it might be possible to avoid court. However, some tickets are not eligible to be paid online and must be paid in-person at the court. Look at your ticket’s small print and/or contact the court for more information.
What happens after I complete FL traffic school?
Complete the course and submit your traffic school certificate of completion to the clerk of the court. Those who select reasons for attendance outside of Basic Driver improvement such as for Auto Insurance Discount or Business will not have to submit the documentation to a court clerk., but to their auto insurance agent and/or business manager.
The traffic school will report your completion to the FL DMV however. This way, your completion will be recorded on your driving record.
How many times can I take this course?
You can complete the traffic school course one time every 12 months while living in the state of Florida. However, you are limited to completing the course five times in your lifetime. If you sign up for FL traffic school and fail the final quiz, do not worry! You will receive unlimited attempts to pass the course.
What is my traffic school due date?
After notifying the Clerk of your intention to take the traffic school course, you have 60 to 90 days from the point in time when the citation is issued to complete the traffic school course. You must also provide proof of completion within this time frame. The completion certificate must be submitted to the traffic division within the Clerk’s office. Be sure to check with the traffic division in the Clerk’s office in the county where you were cited for specific requirements.