Which Kentucky course should I choose?
See why over 3 million students picked us as the number one choice...
Written by professional Hollywood writers and fueled by laughs from the Improv Comedy Club
Cut The Cord
Access your drivers ed course anywhere, anytime, and from any device.
We just ask that you don't do it while driving.
The Road to your Kentucky Drivers License Begins Now
Kentucky teens that are at least 16 years old and have their learner’s permit can now take the GLP Course which is required to obtain their unrestricted KY driver’s license. This course prepares new drivers for the road ahead by going over safety and awareness practices. Not only will you become a safer driver, but completing this program may also help reduce your auto insurance rates! Completing your Kentucky Driver’s Education Online is the simplest way to satisfy KY state requirements and get you on the road!
Improv's Kentucky Drivers Ed Course is Fast, Fun, and Done!
- ✔ KYTC approved
- ✔ Fun and simple
- ✔ Accessible 24/7! Complete the entire 4-hour course at once or log in and out as often as you wish. The course is 100% online, available anytime!
- ✔ Prepares you to easily pass your unrestricted Kentucky driver's license test.
- ✔ Comedy Breaks! Take a break to watch some funny videos related to driving.
- ✔ See Helpful links for new drivers and parents below.
Parents and Teens:
Kentucky Online GDL FAQs
Kentucky State developed a program for new drivers to help them become safe and responsible drivers. The system consists of four phases, where each stage gradually exposes a new driver to the intricacies of the rules of the road as well as driving skills. Kentucky takes great pride in teaching young and/or new drivers good judgement, driver education and road regulations proven to reduce the state’s somewhat high teen-age auto accident and fatality rate.
No matter what age you are, you can only apply for an Intermediate License after you’ve carried a permit for a minimum of 180 days without any moving violations. They are good for 3 years, and can be renewed after 3 years have passed.
Yes. The GLP course must be completed within 1 year of your license issue date.
If you have a permit and are under 18, then you cannot drive between 12 midnight and 6:00 AM.
If you get more than 6 points on your driving record, then your license could be suspended and you will also have to restart the 180 day waiting period before you can apply for your unrestricted license. The Transportation Cabinet may also schedule you for a hearing.
You will lose your license until your 18th birthday or the appropriate suspension period, whichever is longer. If you are over 18, then you will be suspended for six months to two years depending on how many offenses you committed.
When you hear that 0.02 Blood Alcohol Content is "zero tolerance", it means you can NOT drink any alcohol and drive, no matter how old you are. Your license will be suspended for 30 days to 6 months. You will also have to pay a large fine and complete at least 20 hours of community service. You may have to take the written and vision test to be re-licensed.
If you want to legally drive, then yes, you need to take the GLE course. Those with permits and are under 18 must complete it before they will be eligible for the full unrestricted license.
The GLD course is offered at no cost by the Transportation Cabinet for permit holders under age 18. Certified private driving schools may charge a fee.
Yes. You or your school can mail a copy of the certificate and/or transcript to the Division of Driver Licensing.
The course is designed for a 4-hour class for new drivers with the emphasis on driver safety, responsibilities and decision making. Laws, rules, regulations, licensing, seat belt safety, drinking and driving, and other driving skills are discussed. Hands-on driving techniques are NOT included at this time.
As long as you complete the course during the permit or intermediate license phase, you are fine. Just make sure it is finished it before you apply for your full unrestricted license.
Yes. All drivers who received a license under the age of 18 must complete the GLP course before they can receive their full unrestricted license.
You can take it here, online! The education course by the Transportation Cabinet is also conducted in every county in Kentucky, usually at a high school. Scheduling in that circumstance will be determined by the Transportation Cabinet and the school.
It depends on your specific policy. Check with your insurance company to find out if you qualify.
You can take the online course at any time in the morning, noon or night… as long as it’s during the permit or intermediate license phase. However, safety specialists advise that you should take the course 90 to 180 days after obtaining a permit. Studies showed that driving techniques and safety practices are better retained after gaining some driving experience.
Yes! For more info, call 502-564-0276 for the Division of Driver Licensing or contact your nearest high school.
If you had restrictions on your previous state license, then they will transfer to your new Kentucky license. Any DUI or alcohol related convictions and longer suspensions for serious offenses will be transferred. You will also need to complete the GLP course, unless you completed previously completed one.
Yes. If you are under 18, then you cannot drive with more than 1 unrelated person under 20 years old.
Not yet! You will have to wait 180 days from the date that you received your intermediate license, while also keeping a clean record (no tickets!), before you can apply for your full unrestricted license.
You will need to complete 60 hours of behind the wheel driving, 10 of them must be nighttime hours. Be sure to log them into your Driving Log, this will prove to your test administrator that your hours were completed.
You do not have to complete the intermediate phase, but you must complete a Driver Education Course before you can apply for the full unrestricted license.
No, but you are required to complete the Driver Education Course before being eligible to apply for the full unrestricted license.
You do NOT have to complete the intermediate condition. After you’ve had your permit for 180 days, you can apply for your full unrestricted license.
FL Approved Drivers Ed
Get Your Learners Permit (4hr TLSAE 100% Online