Save up to 15% on your Auto Insurance Premiums with a Mature Driver Course
In the District of Columbia and over 33 states, aging can help you get car insurance at a decreased cost. You’ll simply need to complete an approved mature driver course that helps keep you safe on the highway. Finish the class successfully, and you can reduce your insurance premium by up to 15 percent.
Are you 55 and older?
The requirements differ by state, but the insurance discount is usually available to individuals 55 and older who complete an approved mature driving course and meet all other requirements specific to the state.
Mature Driver Course: What will you learn?
Classes include strategies for driving safely along with information on relevant laws, use of new technologies and the impact of health problems on safe driving.
Do you live in one of these States?
The District of Columbia and the states listed below provide insurance discounts for older drivers:
Easy! Complete Online or in a Classroom
Courses can be completed either online or in a traditional classroom. Prior to signing up for a mature driver course, seniors should check with their state’s department of motor vehicles and their auto insurer to be sure the class is approved.
- In 33+ states and the District of Columbia, an insurance discount is required for individuals age 55 and up who successfully finish an approved mature driver course.
- In states that don’t mandate the discount, many insurance companies still offer the discount for successful completion of a course.
- Be sure to ask your insurance agent about any available discounts for taking a mature driver course.
- After you complete the course, you’ll receive a certificate that you can send to your automobile insurance provider. The insurance discount remains valid for three years, when you’ll need to take a refresher course.
*Most states allow the insurer to determine the amount of the discount, but New York, Wyoming, Delaware, Minnesota and Georgia require a discount of at least 10 percent, while Pennsylvania, Connecticut and New Jersey mandate at least 5 percent. If you don’t reside in one of the locations requiring the discount, call your insurer to inquire whether your auto insurance company provides credit for taking a Mature Driver course.