Hardship License For Texas 15-Year-Olds
If you are not quite old enough to legally drive a car in Texas, you still might qualify for what is called a ‘hardship license.’ Under Texas state law some young people (minimum 15 years old) qualify for a legitimate driver’s license if they have an actual important reason for having one. There are four specific criteria for obtaining a hardship driver’s license:
Texas Driving School
- The applicant’s family faces an unusual economic hardship and is being deprived of the basic necessities of life.
- The applicant has an ill family member who needs transportation to medical treatment or the applicant must drive in her place to keep the household running.
- The applicant is enrolled in a vocational educational program.
- An immediate family member has died and remaining family members need him to drive temporarily to carry on household routines
A hardship driver’s license is issued based on the needs of the driver and their family. There are certain restrictions which apply to the person who is given a hardship license, including that they only use the vehicle for very specific purposes and at certain times. This means if you are given a hardship license to go to school or work, then that had better be the only time you use it. If you are caught by police using the vehicle for purposes other than those approved by your hardship license, you not only risk losing your hardship license but also run the risk of losing your regular driving privileges when you become eligible for them.
To download the hardship application, click on the link below:
TX Department of Public Safety – Minor’s Restricted Drivers License Application
The best bet is to follow the guidelines as explained in Texas state law. The Texas Driver’s Handbook includes all of the latest Texas road rules and is a great resource for all things that relate to driving in the State of Texas.
Drive defensively, always follow all posted traffic signs and wear your seat belt. That will keep you on the right side of the law and keep you in good standing with the requirements of your hardship license.
To learn more about defensive driving, check out our TX TEA approved Driver Safety Course.
Texas Learners License – First Time License for Teens
Getting a Texas learner license allows first time drivers the opportunity to actually practice driving prior to getting a provisional Texas drivers license. When holding a Texas Learner Permit, an adult age 21 or older must drive with you at all times and sit in the front passenger seat. The Texas Learners License is valid until you turn 18 years old.
To apply for a Texas Learners License, Texas teens must:
- be at least 15 years old
- have completed the classroom portion of Texas driver education
- have all of the identification verification documents ready:
Bring all of the above-listed required documentation to a driver license office along with the following:
- Your parent/legal guardian
- Proof meeting of Texas drivers ed requirements. If you took the Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) course, you will need the following:
- Form DE-964, Texas Drivers Education Certificate
- Form DL-90A, Classroom Instruction Driver Education Affidavit
To learn more about defensive driving, check out our TX TEA approved Driver Safety Course
Leave a Reply