Free NY Permit Practice Test
You can pass NY permit test the first time – Take NY Permit Practice Test!
- Test your knowledge before taking the real NY permit test
- Pass your NY Permit Test the first time!
As Seen on:
What Do You Need to Know Before Taking the NY Permit Test?
You should know that you MUST complete an Application for Driver License (form MV-44) in order to apply for either a learner’s permit or a driver’s license (that’s the normal paperwork you need to fill out). There is also a written test and a vision test, along with paying the application and license fees. To prepare yourself for the written test, be sure to read the NY Driver’s Manual thoroughly – importantly any parts on road rules, road signs, driving under the influence, and other rules and regulations.
What is the Minimum Age to Take the NY Permit Test?
Once you’re 16 or older, you’re able to apply for your New York learner’s permit. If you’re under 18 however, a parent or legal guardian MUST consent for you to retrieve your permit – unless you’ve turned 17 years old AND have taken a certified New York drivers ed course. If that’s the case, you do not need your parent’s consent! State of NY has just passed the bill allowing students to take the 5-hour pre-licensing course online. IMPROV ® is happy to announce that we will be providing the Approved online course soon. Stay tuned!
How Many Questions Are on the Test?
The NYS test has 20 multiple-choice questions, and you must get at least 14 correct. Along with that, you must specifically pass at least 2 out of 4 questions about road signs. If applying for a motorcycle permit, you must get at least 3 out of the 5 motorcycle questions correct.
Why Take the NY Practice Test?
A better question might be why NOT take the NY Practice Test? It’ll let you know about how well you’ll do on the real test! If you score well, you know that you’ve got a good idea of the rules of the road – and if you don’t, then you know what you’ll need to study to prepare yourself. Extra practice like this can help you avoid failing and needing to do the unfortunate walk out of the without your permit!
Don’t Forget Before You Get Your License
As you might’ve heard or learned, there are penalties for driving without car insurance! It is our legal responsibility as drivers to have liability coverage on our vehicle at all times, and there are a variety of types of coverage available at different prices. It’s also always a good idea to make sure you are getting the lowest insurance rate for your age.