Free Florida Permit Practice Test
Learners Permit Practice Test and Cheat Sheets
- Take The FREE DMV Prep Test
- Take The TLSAE Course If Needed*
- Take The DMV Test Online
- Download Florida Driver's Handbook FREE
As Seen on:
Things You Will Need to Know Before Taking the Florida DMV Permit Test:First-time drivers that have not been licensed in any other state including Florida, are required to take the 4-hour Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (TLSAE). After successfully completing the TLSAE course you can then take the FL DMV approved online test to get your learner's permit and start driving!
Florida DHSMV Approved Online Permit TestDid you know that in order to satisfy Florida state requirements first time drivers under the age of 18 have to complete the 4-hour Florida Drug and Alcohol Course (TLSAE). After completing the TLSAE course, you will be eligible to take the our FL DHSMV approved online permit test.
What is the Minimum Age to Take the Florida DMV Teen Permit Test?Teens must be a minimum of 15 years old to take the test. A parent or guardian must accompany teens to the DMV and will need to show proof of their guardianship prior to the test being taken. Teens will also have to show proof that they have completed the Traffic Law and Substance Education course. You can sign up for that course now!
How Many Questions are on the Florida Driver's License Test?The Florida drivers license test typically has 40 questions. Generally, the test focuses on questions pertaining to the state's traffic laws and the meaning of road signs. The Florida driver's license test is divided into 20 questions regarding road signage and 20 more questions regarding regulations. To pass, the person taking the test must get 15 of the 20 in each section correct. The Florida DMV practice test will help applicants successfully pass this test.
There are Special Requirements for Applicants Who are TeenagersBefore they can take the Florida driver's license test, teen applicants need to complete several processes. These processes include taking a driver's education course, obtaining a Florida learners permit and getting time practicing actual driving skills behind the wheel of a vehicle. Teens also face certain restrictions even with their learner's permit. They are not allowed to drive with passengers other than a parent or guardian and should not drive on freeways. For the first 90 days the teen may only practice on the roads during the day. Once that first three month period concludes, they may driving privileges are extended to 10pm.
Why take the Florida DMV Practice Test?The applicant should carefully review the meaning of various road signs in the state and study Florida's driving laws and regulations. A Florida Driver's Handbook for study purposes can be obtained from the DMV or it can be acquired free online. Once an applicant is familiar with the signs and laws, they should then take a Florida permit practice test to increase their confidence and verify their knowledge. Taking a free DMV test is just like taking the real thing, but if you fail, you can learn from your mistakes and do better the next time. Practice makes perfect and by taking our free Florida permit practice test, you will significantly increase your chances of passing the real DMV test the very first time. Start Your Free Florida DMV Practice Test Now!
Don’t Forget Before You Get Your LicenseYou may have learned while studying for your permit test what the penalties are for driving without car insurance. Remember, you are required to have liability coverage for the vehicle that you will be driving, but there are several other types of coverage available to you, at varying costs. Make sure you are getting the lowest insurance rate for your age.
FAQ′s- FL TLSAE AND PERMIT TESTING
ABOUT THE FLORIDA DRIVERS EDUCATION COURSE
The Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse (TLSAE) course is a Florida drivers education course that all teens in the state must complete to get their Florida learners permit. It teaches the basics regarding responsible driving, and the problems associated with abusing drugs and alcohol.
Absolutely! Our easy to take FL TLSAE course can be competed in just four hours and meets all of the requirements to get the first-time learner′s permit in Florida. Teens love it because it doesn’t have to be taken all at once. You can complete it at your pace!
In the Sunshine State, parents or legal guardians need to spend 50 hours with their teen drivers as part of their FL behind the wheel driver education training. Ten of those need to involve night-driving. The Florida DHSMV created a handy guide which includes details about the driving skills a teen will need to know and that the parent will coach their teen drivers to do properly! It also includes the form that will need to be signed in the presence of the FL DHSMV test examiner by the parent or guardian. If the parent or guardian cannot be present, the signed form can be notarized.
It can be a bit confusing. After all, the course is known by several titles. They may refer to the Florida Drivers Ed Course as The Florida First Time Drivers Course, TLSAE, The Florida Drug and Alcohol Course, or ADAPT. Regardless of what it is being called, they are all one in the same. Our course is compliant with Florida regulations and is what you need to apply for your Florida learners permit.
No! That′s why so many like our approach. You decide when and where you will study. Take your time as it fits into your schedule. Our Florida Drivers Course online is designed for convenience and to work around your busy teen schedule!
This is another reason people love us. We report that you have completed your course to the DHSMV for you, usually within a single day of completion. We will provide you with a TLSAE Course diploma which you can immediately download and print/save to your computer after you complete the course. You may even want to print the diploma on some nice paper, frame it, then hang on your bedroom wall in to remind yourself of your achievement toward your learners license goal!
Simple…you can apply for your Florida learner′s permit and then start your training behind the steering wheel!
TAKING THE FLORIDA PERMIT TEST
You need to be a minimum of 15 years old. You must be under 17 to complete the permit examination online.
You can go to your local FL DHSMV office and take the Florida permit test there, or you can take the Florida permit test online if you are between 15 and 17 years old.
I feel I am prepared enough to pass the Florida Learners Permit test; do I really need to take the FL TLSAE course?
Florida DHSMV requires teens to complete a Drug and Alcohol Course prior to any application to get a learners permit. There is an exception for those who have a license issued by another state who are 18 years of age or older.
- ✔ 20-question multiple choice test on "Road Rules"
- ✔ 20-question multiple choice test on "Road Signs"
You must get at least 80% of the questions correct in each section of the test to pass. Since both the "Road Rules" and "Road Signs" sections contain 20 questions, you must get at least 15 questions correct on each section to earn a passing score.
Another plus for our Florida permit online test! It gives you three (3) chances to pass your Florida learners permit exam. Even if you don?t pass it after three times, you can still take it again. However, future attempts to re-take the Florida permit test will need to be taken in-person at the DHSMV.
Yes. Our Florida drivers permit practice test includes actual questions from previous DHSMV exams. This lets you know precisely what kinds of questions to expect! This will be a big advantage in your preparations for the exam.
To apply for the Florida learners license, you must be at least 15 years old, and have successfully completed an approved Florida drivers education course. You will also need to have at least 50 hours of driving experience supervised by a parent or guardian, with ten of those occurring at night.
In addition to taking the Florida permit exam ("Road Signs" and "Road Rules"), you will be required to complete the following:
- ✔ A vision test.
- ✔ A hearing test
Yes. The consent form can either be signed in person at the FL DHSMV or can be signed in front of and notarized by a Notary Public and submitted to the FL DHSMV.
You can only drive during the day during the first 90 days and until 10pm for the next 90 days. After that, you can drive anytime of the day or night as long as you are accompanied in the front of the vehicle with a driver who is 21 years of age or older.
Prices are always being adjusted. You are best served by contacting your DHSMV for their current prices.
No, you must be accompanied by a driver who is 21 or over. It remains that way until you turn 16 and earn the Intermediate Driver’s License.
GETTING YOUR FLORIDA DRIVERS LICENSE
You need to be at least 16 years of age and have a Florida learners permit for a minimum of a year without being cited for any driving infractions.
You will need to complete a driving test and successfully perform a variety of relatively routine driving tasks.
Yes. A parent or guardian will need to not only sign off on your application, but they will need to certify you have had 50 hours of on the road training with them in the car. Of those 50 hours, ten of those must be at night.
You will need your learners License from Florida or a valid license from another state. You will also need a parent or legal guardian to certify that they have had 50 hours in the car with you while you were driving. Ten of those 50 hours would need to be a night.
If you are 16 years of age you can only operate a motor vehicle between 6am and 11pm. If you are driving to or from work or accompanied by a driver who is 21 years of age or older these restrictions are lifted. If you are 17 years old, you may drive from 5am and 1am, again unless driving is work related or you have a 21 year old or older licensed driver in the front seat with you. Once again, in those cases, the restrictions are lifted.
Florida will only give driving privileges to teenagers who they feel are responsible. School attendance is used in helping to determine this responsibility. If it is decided that you are truant, you will likely have driving privileges suspended. You will have to make an effort to resolve your truancy to gain those privileges back. In most cases, this can be done by making sure you attend classes regularly for 30 school days in a row.
A DUI and or any major violation or serious accident can cause revocation. Teenagers in particular are scrutinized for driving infractions.
If you are under 21, it is illegal to buy beer, wine, or liquor in Florida. It is illegal to even have an alcoholic beverage in the vehicle unless you are accompanied by a parent. If a teen gets a DUI conviction in Florida, it can mean some very expensive and inconvenient ramifications. First of all, the courts can take your car for a period of up to a half-year. Not only that, but you will have to pay a storage fee over that period in order to get it back! Even a first DUI can result in jail time and heavy fines. In Florida, the DMV has no choice but to revoke the licenses of any driver less than 18 years of age a full year for a DUI, or until they are 18 (whichever is longer). In this case, you must also show proof that you have insurance, show proof that you have completed the educational part of an authorized DUI program, and pay a DMV re-issuance fee.
Florida Online Permit Exam FAQ
Yes, we are authorized by Florida DHSMV to administer the written permit test online.
The online permit exam consists of multiple choice and true/false questions that cover Florida road rules and road signs.
You will need to go to your local office just to pick up your learners permit certificate.
You can only take the test online if you are between ages of 14-18. If are over the age 18 you will need to take the test at the local DMV Office
Ever new driver regardless of the age needs to complete TLSAE course if you have never had a driver license in Florida or any other State. We offer a bundle discount if you take both TLSAE and Online DMV Test with us.
No, you can take it in any order but we strongly recommend doing TLSAE first as it preps you for the DMV official permit exam.
To prepare to successfully pass the online permit exam, you should study the Florida Driver’s Handbook and take our Free DMV Practice Exam. If you haven’t already taken the Drug and Alcohol course, sign up for our discounted bundle which includes both the Drug and Alcohol course, the online permit exam, AND an additional free practice permit test!
In order to take the DMV permit exam online, you must be between 14 and 17 years old. If you are a new driver and are 18 years old or older, you are required to take the DMV written exam in person at a local DMV office.
There are 50 total questions on the online permit exam. To pass the exam, you need a score of 80%, so you can miss up to 10 questions and still pass the online permit exam.
The DHSMV allows you to take the online permit exam two (2) more times, assuming that you have not already failed the exam through another provider. A $19.95 fee will be charged for each exam re-take. If you fail the online written exam three (3) times, you can take the exam again, but not online; you will be required to take the exam in person at your local DMV office. Remember that you can only take the online written exam a total of three (3) times, regardless of which service you are using. If you have tried taking the exam with another school and have failed 3 times we won’t be able to process your paperwork.
How long do I have to take the online permit exam and what happens if I am not done answering all of the questions when the time expires?
Per DHSMV requirements, you have 60 minutes to take the online permit exam. Since there are 50 total questions, you have an average of one minute and 12 seconds to answer each question. If the time expires and you are not finished with the exam, any questions you have not answered will be marked incorrect. Your passing score is instantly transmitted to the DHSMV you just need to go to your nearest Florida DMV office to pick up your learner’s permit! Click here for a complete list of Florida DMV office locations. When you go to your local DMV office to get your learner’s permit, you will need to bring with you the following:
- Proof of Identification Bring your birth certificate or United States Passport. If you do not have your original birth certificate (a copy is not acceptable) then you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state you were born in.
- Proof of Social Security Number Bring your original social security card or your W-2 showing your social security number.
- Proof of Residential Address Such as your home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.
- Parent/Guardian On-line Test Proctoring Form Which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
- Parental Consent Form Minor Driver Applicant Form. If you are under 18 and are not married one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you.
You are eligible for a refund if you have not yet started the online permit exam. Once you start the exam, no refunds will be issued, as we are charged by the Florida DHSMV for the exam as soon as the exam is started, regardless of whether it has been completed.