Safe Driving Points
The VA DMV requires you to be at least 20 years old to be eligible for an online driving course.
If you enter your date of birth incorrectly during the registration, your completion information will not be posted to your driving record. (That means that if you are DMV directed, your clinic requirement will not be satisfied.)
But not to worry, we’ll help you every step along the way. If you need anything, you can call us (800) 660-8908 or email us at [email protected] for help.
If you’re under 20 years old, this course will have to be taken in a classroom.
Yes! We are approved and accredited for statewide use in Virginia by the VA DMV and accepted by ALL Virginia Courts. Our engaging Virginia Driver Improvement course meets all traffic school requirements.
Take this course to reduce the points and fines from your driving record, avoid court appearances or insurance increases.
Yes you can! We report course completions electronically right away. As long as you complete by 11:59 p.m. on your due date, we will make sure you get proper credit with the VA DMV and a certificate for your submission to the court.
We will file your certificate electronically to the VA DMV and courts as soon as the Driver Improvement course is completed!
The DMV requires that Driver Improvement Clinics (that’s us) determine if the student (that’s you) has selected the correct course and whether the court is allowing them to receive safe driving points or not. In order to do this, we need to see:
You can submit this information to us during the registration process. Your eligibility to complete the course should be verified the same day you submit your documents.
There are multiple reasons to take a Defensive Driving course in Virginia:
For each calendar year that you do not receive any traffic violations you will be rewarded with safe driving points. You may also earn points for attending traffic school.
Each year driving points are awarded for the previous year and you can accumulate five safe driving points which can be used to offset other demerit points.
Most drivers will receive a discount on their auto insurance after completing a Defensive Driving course. Check with your carrier to see if they provide a discount.
Unfortunately, per Virginia state law, if you were driving commercial vehicle when you received the ticket, you will not be able to get it dismissed or receive a point reduction.
You can still sign up for our Driver Improvement course, but it will have no bearing on your commercial driving record or insurance points.
Instantly! Upon completion, so long as your information was entered correctly, we provide you with a copy of your certificate online so you can print it out any time. It’s as easy as view, print, done!
You can take the Virginia Driver Improvement course to reduce points and fines from a traffic ticket once every 12 months.
Not at all, one of the great benefits to taking the basic driver improvement course online is you can learn the material in class at your convenience. You can log in and out of our Virginia Driver Improvement course as much as you want, and our system will always save your progress so that you can pick up where you left off.