New York DMV Defensive Driving Course for Point and Insurance Reduction

State seal 1 State seal 2 State seal 3

Save up to 10% on your Auto Policy

Accepted by

100% Money Back Guarantee Policy


3-Year Renewal


100% Online - New York law requires that you take a refresher course every three years to maintain your insurance discount. Select this option if you took a defensive driving course in the last three years and need to renew your certificate.

Defensive Driving NY


$55.95 $27.95 +$8 DMV Fee
100% Online – No Final Exam 10% Insurance Premium Reduction Reduces Points From the Driving Record Instant Proof Of Completion

TLC/Hack License


$29.99 +$8 DMV Fee
100% Online - The course is accepted by the Taxi and Limousine Commission for Taxicab Driver License for both new applicants and current license renewals. All licensees must complete and pass a NY DMV approved Defensive Driving Course at least every three years. TLC will only accept original certificates that will be mailed to you upon completion. You may also qualify for a discount on your personal policy upon the completion of this course.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IPIRP (Defensive Driving)?

I-PIRP is an acronym for the Internet/Alternate Delivery Method Point and Insurance Reduction Program. It’s also known as New York Defensive Driving Course Online.

What is Point Reduction?

Another benefit of completing this course is a point reduction. If you accumulated too many points on your driving record, this will help to prevent you from getting your license suspended. Completion of the course will provide you with a 4-point credit that will be subtracted from your driving record point count.

Will the PIRP (Defensive Driving) course prevent my insurance company from raising my premiums?

No. PIRP does not prevent general premium increases or premium increases due to violations or accidents. It provides a 10% reduction for three years, from the base rate of your current liability, no-fault, and collision premiums. So this way you’re always saving money, even if your rates go up!

After I complete the New York Defensive Driving course NY, how do I receive the point reduction?

We will notify the NY DMV after you complete the course. A notice will then be entered on your New York driving record, and the NY DMV computer will automatically reduce your active point total by up to four points. “Point reduction” means the NY DMV will not count up to four points on your driving record toward license revocation or suspension. Points must have been applied to your driving record within the past eighteen (18) months to qualify for a reduction with this course. We will also mail you a certificate of completion to present to your insurance company.

Who should take the defensive driving PIRP course?

Each person with a New York driver license listed as a principal operator on an automobile policy must take this course in order to be eligible for a discount.

Example: if a family consists of a husband, wife, and a teenaged driver who own 3 automobiles, all three operators must take the course to be eligible for a discount on each automobile.

Who is eligible to take this course?

Any New York driver is eligible for this defensive driving course and will save money on their insurance, whether they have points on their driving record or not.

How long does it take to complete an I-PIRP (Defensive Driving) course?

State rules require that all I-PIRP courses are a minimum of 320 minutes of instruction time. The good news is you have 30 days to complete and can log in and out as many times as you like. The course is accessible 24/7!

How many points does a defensive driving course take off in NY?

This will depend on your individual policy. The state-mandated discount is 10% from the base of your collision and comprehensive portion of your policy. Many of our students averaged anywhere from $900-$1500 over the course of three years.

Who should take this course for an insurance discount?

To maximize your savings, all family members who are a principal driver of a vehicle on the insurance policy can take the NY defensive driving course. Each driver will receive a 10% discount on the base premium of their auto insurance policy.

Will I save more if members of my family take the course?

Yes, the insurance premium will apply to all motor vehicles principally operated by members of the family who complete the course. Please note that the discount can be applied to only one driver for each covered vehicle. To confirm the exact amount you will save, please contact your insurance agent.

Will young and minor drivers and drivers participating in the assigned risk pool receive the insurance premium discount?

Yes. Any insured driver who is the principal operator and completes a Point and Insurance Reduction Program course will receive the 10% reduction.

How often do I have to take the course?

You can take the course every three years for an insurance discount. You are allowed to take it for point reduction every 18 months if needed.

Course Details & Reporting Process

How will it work?

A. First, complete the course at your convenience in the same day or over 30 days; it’s up to you!

B. Your original certificate of completion will be mailed to you the very next day after you complete the course. We will also report your completion to the DMV to ensure your point reduction.

Do I have to take a test?

There are short multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each chapter, but no final test is required.

What if I don’t pass a quiz?

They are so simple, it’s virtually impossible not to pass! All you need to do is answer 3 out of 4. But if you miss it, all you must do is take it over until you pass.

Can I log off and continue an I-PIRP course at a later time or use different computers for separate course sessions?

Yes. You can log in and out of the course as many times as you wish, allowing you to take the course in increments rather than all at one time. However, the NY DMV requires that you complete the I-PIRP course within 30 days of the date you register for the course. You can complete the course in as many sessions as necessary, but you must complete the course within 30 calendar days of registration. Your data will be stored on-line for each course session. You will be assigned a user ID (your email address) and a password (which you choose) when you register for the course. You can use your ID and password to log in on any computer that can access the Internet with an acceptable connection.

When can I start?

Now! And if you have any questions you can call us, email us, or use our friendly live chat!