Learner’s Permit Form Requirements
In Florida, you must be 15 years of age or older to be allowed to receive a learner’s permit. You must also supply the following documents:
- Parental Consent Form: If under 18 years old, you’ll need to provide a signed Parental Consent Form. (The form will have to be signed in front of the examiner, or a notary public if parent won’t be in attendance.)
- TLSAE Course Completion: Proof of successful completion of the Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course or comparable from another state, jurisdiction or country
- Proof of Your Identity: In order to be in compliance with the requirements of the REAL ID Act, those applying for a license in person must supply documents to show proof of identity, legal residence, social security number and date and place of birth.
Note: You must provide at least two documents to verify proof of residence:
- One (1) Primary piece of Identification (an original or a certified copy) – Your birth certificate for the United States, a current U.S. passport or passport card, a Certificate of Citizenship, a Consular Birth Report for Birth Abroad,? or a Certificate of U.S. Naturalization.
- Proof of social security number – An official Social Security card, a W2 form (printed, not hand written), SSA-1099, or any 1099 (not hand written)?? or a paycheck stub.
If you do not have your own Social Security Number, click here.
- Proof of your residential address – Click here for acceptable documents? of proof
The Florida DMV Written Exam
In order to receive a learner’s permit, you must pass the Florida Road Rules & Signs test. You can take this test at your local DMV office or online. This written exam covers the following:
- 20 multiple choice questions on the Rules of the Road, with 15 correct required to pass.
- 20 multiple choice questions on the Road Signs, with 15 correct required to pass.
- A Vision Test with a testing machine. In order to pass, you must have 20/40 or better vision in each eye separately as well as both eyes. Corrective lenses can be worn.
- A Hearing Test with a machine that will present a series of sounds at varying volumes
Can I drive without an adult in the car?
Yes, with some restrictions. Once you obtain an Intermediate License, your specific driving privileges are based upon your age:
16 yrs. old: Driving is allowed between 6 am and 11 pm without licensed adult in the vehicle. Other times of day require another licensed adult age 21 or older in the passenger seat of the car. This rule does not apply if the driver is commuting to/from work.k.
17 yrs. old: Driving is allowed between 5 am and 1 am without licensed adult in the vehicle. Other times of day require a licensed adult age 21 or older in the passenger seat of the car. This rule does not apply if the driver is commuting to/from work.
18 yrs. old: Unaccompanied driving is allowed at all hours of the day and night.
Are there exceptions to driving hour restrictions with an Intermediate License?
Yes, if it’s work-related. Once you have an Intermediate Driver License, you may drive without another licensed adult driver in the car during the time restrictions if you are commuting to/from work.