Florida Course FAQ’s

General Questions

We do not offer a DUI course, but the Florida DMV website lists all Florida Licensed DUI Programs. Click here: Approved FL DUI Schools.
Yes, we do. The TCAC course is the same as our Florida Basic Driver Improvement Defensive Driving Course. Just be sure to select TCAC as the “reason” you are taking the course.
Yes! Select the correct county from the 8-hour Intermediate Course section, then choose “Florida Aggressive Driver Traffic School” to register for that course.
No. The Advanced Driver Improvement Course is a 12-hour program administered by select approved providers. For more details, click here: Advanced Driver Improvement Courses.
This form is used by the Miami-Dade court system and is available as a printable .pdf document from the court’s website online here: Traffic School Election Form.

About Traffic School and Basic Driver Improvement Course

Our Florida traffic school course is DMV certified for both:
FBDI (Florida Basic Driver Improvement Defensive Driving) and Traffic Collision Avoidance Course.

  • No points will go on your driving record.
  • Your auto policy cannot be canceled because of this violation.
  • No record of conviction.
  • Your status as a “safe driver” will still be in effect.
  • Your insurance rates might not go up.
  • You DO NOT need to hire an attorney.

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE TRAFFIC SCHOOL IF:

  • You were a driver in a crash where you are found at fault and someone was transported to the hospital.
  • You had two crashes in a two-year period which resulted in property damage greater than $500.
  • Passed a stopped school bus
  • Highway Racing
  • Highway Racing – Spectator
  • Reckless Driving
  • Running a red light or stop sign (Fl Statute 316.074 and 316.075)

NEW LAW: If you are required to complete traffic school for any of the reasons listed above and do not complete the entire course, your license will be SUSPENDED. (FL Statute 316.074 and 316.075)


BDI (Basic Driver Improvement) traffic school course, if:

  1. You got a ticket and want to attend traffic school
  2. You were ordered by judge to attend 4-hr. traffic school (BDI)
  3. You were ordered by the DMV to complete TCAC course (Traffic Collision and Avoidance Course).

IMPORTANT NOTE: Drivers with a Class A, B, or C (Commercial) license MAY NOT make a traffic school election under this subsection. ?You also MAY NOT make a traffic school election under this subsection if you have attended Traffic School in the past 12 months or made more than five traffic school elections in a lifetime. If you are not sure you qualify you can check by?clicking here Check your traffic school eligibility.

You need to confirm if the court wants to you to complete a 4-hour BDI Course, an 8-hour traffic school course or an Aggressive Driver Course. If ordered to complete an 8-hour or Aggressive Driver Course, make sure that the court allows you complete the course online.

Florida DMV can refer you to take a TCAC course (same as BDI – 4-hr.) if:

  • You were a driver in a crash where you are found at fault and someone was transported to the hospital.
  • You had two crashes in a two-year period which resulted in property damage greater than $500.
  • Passed a stopped school bus
  • Highway Racing
  • Highway Racing – Spectator
  • Reckless Driving
  • Running a red light or stop sign (Fl Statute 316.074 and 316.075)

NEW LAW: If you are required to complete traffic school for any of the reasons listed above and do not complete the entire course, your license will be SUSPENDED. (FL Statute 316.074 and 316.075)


If you received a ticket in Florida, but your driver’s license is from a state other than Florida, taking the Florida Basic Driver Improvement course will not guarantee that your home state will not assess points or post the moving violation on your driving record. You should check with your home state authorities to determine what rules apply.
No points will be assessed if you complete traffic school.

1. You must pay the fees for your violation within 30 days. You can do this by going directly to the County Clerks website: myfloridaclerks.com.

      - select the county where you received the citation on the map of Florida (lower left corner of the website)

 

    - under “Online Services” select: “Pay Traffic Tickets Online”

2. You must complete traffic school within 90 days from the date you paid your citation. This may vary from court to court. Please check with the court where you received your citation.


Three Simple reasons: FUN, FAST, SIMPLE!
But here are few more:

  • Only the Improv Traffic School can offer you traffic school courses that were developed with professional comedians and Hollywood writers to make traffic school fun – as well as educational.
  • Free Improv Comedy Club passes for two with your completion ($32 value)
  • 100% State Certified and Court-Approved
  • Free Online Support
  • Members of the BBB and BBB Online
  • Voted “Best Traffic School”
  • Same day certificate processing and overnight delivery options available

CAUTION: Our course will cause laughter, learning and enjoyment.

Our typical course consists of 10 easy modules that you complete at your own pace We estimate no more than 20-25 minutes per module.
Your citation number can be found on your ticket.
If you do not have your citation number, you will need to contact the court, since we cannot process your completion certificate without it.
* Note: If you are taking the course for insurance discount, please select course #6 and enter “INSUDIS” in the citation number field.
We offer unlimited re-takes and you can always go back and review missed material.
You are eligible to attend traffic school if:

    • You have not attended traffic school within the past twelve (12) months,
    • You have not attended traffic school more than five (5) times during your lifetime

and

You can complete the entire course same day as you register. Pick Instant Certificate download option. Your certificate will be available within 30 minutes of the course completion.

If you fail to complete the course within 90 days of your election to attend traffic school and do not pay the fine:

  • Your driver’s license will be suspended.
  • You will incur additional costs.
  • Points will be assessed on your record.

You need to confirm if the court wants to you to complete a 4-hour BDI Course, an 8-hour traffic school course or an Aggressive Driver Course. If ordered to complete an 8-hour or Aggressive Driver Course, make sure that the court allows you complete the course online.

Your certificate number comes directly from the DMV. When you complete the course, we electronically transmit your information to the DMV and they assign the certificate number. Then, when you take your certificate to the court, they will access and verify the information in the DMV database. Remember that it is your responsibility to turn in your certificate to the court.

About Florida Online Permit Test

Yes, we are authorized by Florida DHSMV to administer the written permit test online.

The online permit exam consists of multiple choice and true/false questions that cover Florida road rules and road signs.

You will need to go to your local office just to pick up your learners permit certificate.

You can only take the test online if you are between ages of 14-18. If are over the age 18 you will need to take the test at the local DMV Office

Every new driver regardless of the age needs to complete TLSAE course if you have never had a driver license in Florida or any other State. We offer a bundle discount if you take both TLSAE and Online DMV Test with us.

No, you can take it in any order but we strongly recommend doing TLSAE first as it preps you for the DMV official permit exam.

To prepare to successfully pass the online permit exam, you should study the Florida Driver’s Handbook and take our Free DMV Practice Exam.

If you haven’t already taken the Drug and Alcohol course, sign up for our discounted bundle which includes both the Drug and Alcohol course, the online permit exam, AND an additional free practice permit test!


In order to take the DMV permit exam online, you must be between 14 and 17 years old. If you are a new driver and are 18 years old or older, you are required to take the DMV written exam in person at a local DMV office.
There are 50 total questions on the online permit exam. To pass the exam, you need a score of 80%, so you can miss up to 10 questions and still pass the online permit exam.
The DHSMV allows you to take the online permit exam two (2) more times, assuming that you have not already failed the exam through another provider. A $19.95 fee will be charged for each exam re-take.

If you fail the online written exam three (3) times, you can take the exam again, but not online; you will be required to take the exam in person at your local DMV office.

Remember that you can only take the online written exam a total of three (3) times, regardless of which service you are using. If you have tried taking the exam with another school and have failed 3 times we won’t be able to process your paperwork.

Per DHSMV requirements, you have 60 minutes to take the online permit exam. Since there are 50 total questions, you have an average of one minute and 12 seconds to answer each question.

If the time expires and you are not finished with the exam, any questions you have not answered will be marked incorrect.

Your passing score is instantly transmitted to the DHSMV you just need to go to your nearest Florida DMV office to pick up your learner’s permit!

Click here for a complete list of Florida DMV office locations.
When you go to your local DMV office to get your learner’s permit, you will need to bring with you the following:

  • Proof of Identification
    Bring your birth certificate or United States Passport. If you do not have your original birth certificate (a copy is not acceptable) then you may bring a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state you were born in.
  • Proof of Social Security Number
    bring your original social security card or your W-2 showing your social security number.
  • Proof of Residential Address such as your home utility bill, cable bill, home telephone bill, etc.
  • Parent/Guardian On-line Test Proctoring Form which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
  • Parental Consent Form – Minor Driver Applicant Form. If you are under 18 and are not married one parent or legal guardian must sign your license application. Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you.

You are eligible for a refund if you have not yet started the online permit exam. Once you start the exam, no refunds will be issued, as we are charged by the Florida DHSMV for the exam as soon as the exam is started, regardless of whether it has been completed.


Florida Basic Driver Improvement Course