All Texas drivers under the age of 18 years must participate in the state’s graduated licensing program if they expect to drive legally. Texas is one of many states which use provisional driving licenses for new drivers to help them gradually adjust to life behind the wheel.
There is no substitute for experience when it comes to operating a motor vehicle and states like Texas understand this. That’s why they use a graduated licensing program to slowly add privileges to new drivers as they complete certainly steps in the program. The more they learn, the more experience they have, the more driving they can do until they finally (hopefully) graduate to a full driving license.
According to Texas law, the Department may not issue a driver license to a person who is under 25 years of age unless the person successfully completes an approved driver education course. Teens and young adults under 25 may meet this requirement by completing courses offered by private commercial driving schools, through public schools, or the parent taught program.
The Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) program is offered by the Department for parents, and other family members, who wish to provide instruction to their teen driver(s). Can’t decide if you want to be the instructor? View our checklist for the differences between parent taught and commercial/public school driver education programs.
NOTE: All driver licenses, other than a learner license, issued to persons under 18 years of age will be marked “Provisional”. The provisional license will be vertical and will be dated to expire on the applicant’s 18th birthday or next birthday occurring after the date of issuance. No renewal notice will be sent as the applicant must present Verification of Enrollment and Attendance from their school for each renewal.