If you are about to turn 16 in the state of Georgia you are likely already thinking about getting your driving license; studying for the test and practicing behind the wheel with your mom and dad.
But there is much required of drivers who are under the age of 18 and looking to get their driving license in the state of Georgia. You are required, among other things, to attended a state certified driver education course, the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program and have a fully insured and inspected vehicle to take your test in.
Fortunately the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles has a complete list of the requirements for anyone seeking a driver’s license in their state posted at their web site.
Here is a partial list of the requirements:
Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful presence in the United States. Click here for more information.
Non-US citizens must present original, non-expired immigration documents. Click here if you are a non-US citizen.
A valid learner’s license must be held for one year and one day from its issuance. It must be surrendered at the time of testing.
You must be at least 16 years old.
Effective January 1, 2007, sixteen year olds must be in compliance with Joshua’s Law, which requires GA approved Driver’s Education before license issuance. At age 17, Driver’s Education is not required.
For classes completed before July 1, 2007, a completion certificate for the driver’s education course must be presented at the time of the road test.
After July 1, 2007, approved driver’s education schools submit student certificates electronically to DDS, where it is matched to the driver’s license record. A few certificates are unable to be matched to the proper record, so it is suggested that you bring the paper certificate with you to the road test. If the reservations agent has already confirmed the electronic certificate on the driver record, the paper certificate need not be presented.
Appointments for on-the-road tests are highly recommended and may be scheduled up to 90 days in advance. Walk in road tests cannot be guaranteed and may involve lengthy wait time. Have the driver’s permit number available when calling.